RSS

My Mat Remains UnThudded

13 Aug

Well folks we are a week further along from the telephone call stating that the original PIP2 form has not arrived and guess what ……. it’s still not arrived. *sigh*

I grasp the phone and dial the freephone number (ever wondered what their phone bill looks like 😲). After going through the ‘please visit out web site at ….’ schpeel, the press 1 for this, press 2 for that, press 3 for the other, press # to hear these again, I sit tediously in the loop of a very tinny opening strains of Vivaldi’s Four Seasons which is interrupted with the ‘All our operators are busy right now, please hold or you may wish to call back’, back to Vivaldi before being interrupted 30-seconds later with the same voice.

Seventeen minutes later an actual proper live human person speaks! We whisk through the security questions (I sometimes wonder if I sound too confident and knowledgeable when I answer them, too many times answering the same questions plus too many years asking the same questions). Up shot – call back on Monday if it’s not there – it seems last weeks lady was a tad bit over eager in our Royal Mail operatives.

I explained that I wouldn’t be calling on Monday because it’s Big Sis’s funeral and I don’t think I’ll be coherent enough for business. She was incredibly understanding, made a note on my claim (brain was visualising the old 110 screen from my days as a processor) and said to call on Tuesday or Wednesday.

So in limbo, I wait……

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 13, 2019 in General, Life

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “My Mat Remains UnThudded

  1. deacongill

    August 13, 2019 at 2:41 pm

    Waiting endlessly for people just to do their jobs seems to be a feature of our current state. It’s infuriating and it’s hard to get a balance between being just that – infuriated – and working out when it’s necessary to possess one’s soul in (im)patience.

    I do hope the funeral goes as well as can be expected, and is a time for gratitude and gentle comfort as well as grieving. Love from me.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. menhir1

    August 15, 2019 at 3:38 pm

    What an unhelpful kerfuffle all the calling requirement makes. I am glad that you are not footing the phone bill. People’s time and effort doesn’t seem to count for much, sad to say. I do wonder what the work and management ethic is in these offices.

    I hope the funeral was helpful for you and your family. A warm hug from me.
    Xxx

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a comment