RSS

Reluctant Read

10 Jan


For Christmas I received a long waited for book, The Shepherd’s Crown by Terry Pratchett. This is his final book in the Discworld series published after his death. It is sitting at my bedside but I find myself reluctant to start it.

I have been a fan of these books for many years, thanks to a mistake. Masquerade landed in my lap and I was hooked from the first chapter. I’d never consider myself a science fiction fantasy fan and I cannot tell you why this series of books have hooked me. I have my favoured characters (Granny Weatherwax, Death, Nanny Ogg, Rincewind, Nobby Nobbs, The Librarian, the list could continue) and I often re-read favoured titles (Wyrd Sisters, Witches Abroad, Reaper Man, Mort, The Last Continent, another list that could continue). I have many of the forty titles in both paperback and audio formats, as well as the dvd’s and all are well used and frequently revisited.

But I am reluctant to start the last book, maybe somewhere I see the last page as a true end to the series and once reached that is it, there really is no more, nothing new yet to be discovered and I’d hate for that to be an anticlimax.

Curious things us humans….. 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 10, 2017 in Books, General, Life, people

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Reluctant Read

  1. deacongill

    January 11, 2017 at 7:08 pm

    Yes, I can identify with that. It’s not just a series either – if I’m reading a particularly good book I try and slow down, and delay getting to the end!

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
