RSS

Monkey See, Monkey Done

17 Jun


Well I say done ….. But ….. Not almost quite. I’m going to sew his head on firmer, it’s a bit wobbly and I think that is what is unbalancing him, because before attaching the head the body would stand alone.

Anyway, he be done. Like with all my projects I am a little non-pulsed with him, a little negative. My excitement comes with the start (that was quickly stubbed out with this pattern) and at the completion. As soon as it is finished I loose any sense of joy or accomplishment.

Curiously my favourite bit cannot be seen. At the base of the body and three quarters of the way up the tail is 12-gauge wire and at the wire end in the tail I pondered how to cover and cushion it to prevent poking tenders bits. I thought my solution was rather have ingenious.  I cut a cotton bud q-tip and with some elbow grease skewered it to the end, making it rigid but not dangerous. Simples!

The instructions were somewhat vague when you would have like additional clarification. When it came to attaching the legs, arms and head the words of wisdom were “attach to the body”, wow, detailed! 

Still he is done, he is cute if a little flawed.

What next ….. I can continue with my triangular shawl for now until I find something else to grab my creative juices.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on June 17, 2016 in Projects

 

Tags:

6 responses to “Monkey See, Monkey Done

  1. Bushka

    June 17, 2016 at 3:34 pm

    Cute, Ann. So sweet…..Looks as if he is up to tricks…. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • AnneMarie

      June 17, 2016 at 3:42 pm

      Heap, he’s been called a few choice names during construction and almost took to flight across the room at one point.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • Bushka

        June 17, 2016 at 6:02 pm

        Monkey tricks? 😉 Lovely!!! 🙂

        Like

         
  2. menhir1

    June 17, 2016 at 5:50 pm

    Aw, I do like Monkee’s questioning position of head, also the banana.

    If your Q-tips have fairly rigid (and long enough) plastic bits to make a cross shape, it might be possible to wrap ridged paper, ridges in, around it, then and give monkee head and shoulder support, a bit like a very mini coat hanger. Just an idea, which I can’t say is foolproof. It’s one of those things to try.

    xx

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • AnneMarie

      June 17, 2016 at 5:57 pm

      With his head, I just need to go around the base again with the head pushed down a little further, so a rounder neck is attached to mor of the head.

      Like

       
  3. deacongill

    June 23, 2016 at 8:27 pm

    I think he’s incredibly cute just as he is, and somebody is going to love him – I know my grandkids would!

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
