RSS

Resigned to Resign

13 May


On Monday morning I sent an email of resignation to the charity which hosts the public online forum I moderated. 

In truth it had been on the cards for the past twelve months but I did not want to leave my fellow mod gal pals. The old forum (phpbb) was becoming unstable, there were database issues (spammers reposting others posts as their own), increased spam posts and our volunteer guru was getting nowhere trying to get the licence renewed (which meant a lot of saving info and uploading new software etc). Someone (not us) had the bright idea of starting over, creating a new forum (WordPress) carrying over the existing database and hopefully regenerating interest (from both the charity staff, social media and users). That fired us up, gave us some positives for the future – how naive we were.

The new forum took eight months to ‘prepare’, alright I appreciate this was not being done in-house by the charity but by their third party webby peeps. There were repetitive emails about what was required back and forth. Eventually after numerous deadlines passed the new forum was launched and a significant number of repeatedly told requests were not present and after another eight months, they are still not.  I defy anyone to find a forum that does not have a search function!

The forum has completely lost its community spirit, it’s friendly, supportive, welcoming feeling. For me a sarcastic resentment was setting in, time to let go of it all.  I will admit that I felt a little dejected for the resignation being accepted without dissuasion or much else and discovering I had instantly been ‘de-buttoned’ made it known there was no notice period.

Maybe it’s a protest resignation, but I know the protest will change nothing. Maybe I’m tired to having yet another chance squandered by the third party. Either way, I’m done.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on May 13, 2016 in General, Projects

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “Resigned to Resign

  1. Bushka

    May 13, 2016 at 1:20 pm

    Perhaps, the time has come for you to ‘let go’ and ‘let be’….. 😉 Hugs! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • AnneMarie

      May 13, 2016 at 1:26 pm

      Yes, I was getting of banging my head against the same brick wall, besides the bricks were starting to dent, lol.

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • Bushka

        May 13, 2016 at 1:50 pm

        Take Care of yourself…. 😉 Hugs!

        Like

         
  2. deacongill

    May 13, 2016 at 4:29 pm

    It’s always dispiriting when something you’ve worked really hard on fails, because of the stupidity/laziness/whatever of other people. As I know to my cost! But I’m equally convinced there comes a time to say ‘enough’s enough’. If you can’t rely on your team, there’s not a lot of point in fighting a lone battle. xx

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. menhir1

    May 15, 2016 at 9:27 pm

    I was sorry to read of your trials and tribulations but, I was also fascinated at the processes you went through that led up to your final decision. It all sounds a very solid base on which to arrive at the point you have. There are always beginnings, middles and ends; now you have the opportunity to think about new things when you want to.

    xxx

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
