RSS

Monkey Face

02 Apr

  

I’ve never tackled anything like this before, I read, re-read and consulted my crochet guru (aka BFF).  The facial heart was part one and rather tricky, attention to counting still rendered me flummoxed and annoyed. The final row of the face requires making stitches around the edge and despite a few attempts I still could not get it right. BFF managed, while looking over my shoulder to get me right. I love her.

We switched to the tan colour and over the next hour and a half, using fingers and out loud counting, kept getting confused with the instructions and the result.  You see the instructions read “R1: Sc 5, Inc, Sc 10, *Inc, Sc 1*, rep 5 times. Sc 3, *Sc 1, Inc*, rep 5 times. Sc 10, Inc, Sc 5 (67 sts)” … But we kept running out of row.  Until it dawned that the instruction *inc, sc1* rep 5times, did not mean do it and do it again five times, it meant do that instruction a total of five times. Rather a light bulb moment, mind you those two rows have got to be the longest we’ve ever spent doing two short rows.

Once that hurdle was over the rest has been pretty straight forward. I enjoyed making his little ears, crocheting a disc to pinch in half, but that made an ear with a ) shaped edge to stitch on a head that is ( shaped! With instruction as helpful as “fasten ears to side of head”, the pictures were not mush more help either.

I am enjoying making him, but to be honest I am not happy with it, it is not tidy enough, neat enough for my comfort. Also he is rather larger than first imagined, his head is bigger than my fist!

It’s the body next, with arms, legs and then his long tail.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 2, 2016 in Projects

 

Tags:

4 responses to “Monkey Face

  1. Bushka

    April 2, 2016 at 5:02 pm

    Don’t know much about this, but, the face looks promising. I’m sure you’ll prevail…You always DO! Hugs! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. Your Best Friend

    April 3, 2016 at 5:33 am

    I think he looks brilliant, AM, and I’m not just saying that. This is your first attempt at amigurumi crochet and it is different to doing booties, scarves, gloves, and hats. It’s easy to go wrong if every stitch isn’t exactly right. You have to get the numbers right, and we eventually did. 🙂

    I wouldn’t worry too much about the sizing. This is not a garment to be worn. He is fantastic and a real cutie. Well done you!!!

    Liked by 1 person

     
  3. gill

    April 5, 2016 at 12:29 pm

    I think he looks delightful and I’m in awe of your persistence! I find with all sorts of things that it’s often the instructions which aren’t clear.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • AnneMarie

      April 5, 2016 at 12:51 pm

      That is true, I nearly always have a head scratching moment with instructions.

      Now I wish I had started with the rest of him first and dine the head last, and there are several things I would do differently.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
