RSS

Monkey see Monkey do

21 Mar

image

Beware of posts on Facebook, lol.  This delightful fellow above was being posted and shared about Facebook, with the tag line, ‘looks easy to do’.  He is a cutie pie, his instructions can be found on the site Chinese New Year Monkey  A friend posted it to my wall and a blogbuddy commented that she would like one.  A project for me to sink my teeth into, that makes use of wool already got, just what was needed.

I’ve never tackled anything like this before, which was why I waited until my BFF crochet guru was here to help decipher things for me.

I’ve made a start, he is going to be bigger than I expected, but he is growing on me and I am itching to get on with a couple more rows.  I can only go so far until I need the safety eyes and stuffing to arrive [come on Mr Postie!!]

I’ll post my progress.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on March 21, 2016 in Projects

 

Tags:

7 responses to “Monkey see Monkey do

  1. Bushka

    March 21, 2016 at 11:17 am

    Excellent….Very cute….Can’t resist recalling this ‘saying’ : ‘Monkey see…..Monkey do!’. 😉 Hugs! ❤

    Like

     
  2. Your Best Friend

    March 21, 2016 at 1:33 pm

    Are we all getting monkeys for Christmas now? 😉

    I will pack up a bag of polyfill for you tonight and send it today or tomorrow. Should have done it this weekend but I had no idea you’d be whizzing along so quickly, lol. Well done you!

    That first hurdle was a puzzling doozy but we got through it!

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • AnneMarie

      March 21, 2016 at 4:08 pm

      True, the face is the tricky bit, I’d do it differently another time

      Like

       
  3. deacongill

    March 21, 2016 at 6:27 pm

    That’s utterly delightful. I’m so impressed at your skill and persistence- looking forward to seeing the stages of development!

    Like

     
    • AnneMarie

      March 22, 2016 at 12:30 pm

      He has grown on me since getting past the first complicated hump [took two of us to stitch two rows, details later]

      Liked by 1 person

       
  4. menhir1

    April 14, 2016 at 9:21 pm

    Hi AnneMarie,

    I am not getting any notifications of your posts. Can you check if you have accepted my invitation made ages ago.

    This monkey is a super project. Crochet instructions are deceptive aren’t they. Once you get to know the stitches, the ‘code’ does become much more sensible. I haven’t done any crochet for a long time, therefore, I would have to re-acquaint myself with the whole kit and caboodle, if, I did pick up on it again.

    xx

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • AnneMarie

      April 14, 2016 at 9:26 pm

      I’ll check … Don’t know if you’ll need to send it again.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
