RSS

Breezy Time At Maritime Festival

06 Sep

IMG_1413

It was the annual maritime festival at the historic quay in town this weekend. Sadly the weather did not wish to comply, it was rather breezy and there was that drizzle that slowly soaks coats but not the ground.  This year there were only two sailing vessels in port, the Lord Nelson and the Gotenborg.

Recently a local offshore company had gone into ouquidation and for weeks three large off shore vessels had been moored along the quay where visiting ships would be moored. Whilst two had been moved, one was still slap bang in the middle, blighting the views somewhat. There were other gaps so people could watch the jet ski display team, which was fine for the two fifteen minutes they displayed, otherwise it looked like vessels had not turned up.

The local RNLI vessel was there (why are our vessels always given unpronounceable names), along with the one from the neighbouring station (which is not RNLI funded, there’s a light hearted rivalry between the two).  Strong presence of the Royal Navy, The Army, as well as the Coastguard.

It’s always a fun occasion to meet friendly dogs, including a 12 week old border collie pup who was as snugly as a bear.

As we approached the Lord Nelson there was a lump in my throat, I’d go tomorrow if I could, but my strength means it is now beyond me. I was struck by how long it has been since I sailed (2004) and specifically on her (2000)., I no longer know the crew, no longer involved with the local supports, it feels a little like she has sailed from me. Terrific memoriesi I will always treasure.

IMG_1414

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 6, 2015 in General

 

Tags:

4 responses to “Breezy Time At Maritime Festival

  1. Bushka

    September 6, 2015 at 2:47 pm

    The moment I saw the post title I knew you would be going down Memory Lane! What superb memories you have of sailing etc. Not a privilege I’ve had to savour. The ‘breeze’ might well have been most appropriate….Hugs! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. deacongill

    September 7, 2015 at 3:29 pm

    I remember reading about that extraordinary experience of yours. There is nothing like the sight of a sailing ship to put a smile on my face!

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • AnneMarie

      September 7, 2015 at 3:36 pm

      Seeing them brings a tear. They are such astounding characterful vessels, as are those involved with them lol.

      Liked by 1 person

       

Leave a Reply

 
