RSS

Where To Go?

16 Jul
 photo wavebye.gif

We have all by now discovered by various means [mine was a Facebook post] that the BCUK platform is closing in December. Surprised … far from it. But this raises the question, now what?

Times like these put me in a great quandry, I realise I have not been as active on the blogging as I could/should have been, but the thought of loosing or walking away from the years of work and effort here, makes me almost bereft and something I’d loathe to do.  Common fault, I’d need both hands and maybe a foot of times in life where I stubbornly persisted when I should have let go.

If I decide to start again elsewhere, then where?  Live Journal?  WordPress?  Blogger?  I googled and came up with a website listing the top ten blogging sites and was surprised that there were so many I had not heard of Here is the link Best Free Blog Sites ]

Blogging is a useful outlet, but it is made all the more rewarding by the comments and support of my readers  photo hug.gif but I can become jaded that I have nothing of worth to say, the enjoyment is not there when forcing myself to participate

Do I want to ‘start over’ creating a regular reader group, is there somewhere where that has community group style interaction.  I was so reluctant, wrong word let me rethink that, I so procrastinated over the revamping of my website but when forced into it, found it enjoyable and reinvigorating, would a new blog have the same effect or again leave me struggling to come up with something interesting to others.

 photo think_smiley_50.gif

Early days, I know … but where are you guys thinking of going?

 
28 Comments

Posted by on July 16, 2015 in General

 

Tags: ,

28 responses to “Where To Go?

  1. menhir

    July 16, 2015 at 12:59 pm

    Noticed one blog site was free to try for a month, then up front payment required. Two of the others I already have platforms on. So do other people from BCUK who moved a long time ago. One, I must check the name again, might be worth exploring, just for my own curiosity.

    The information given for transferring your stuff from BCUK to WP with .XML FILE (might work to other sites as well) seems to work easily enough. I noticed some doubles, though that would not be entirely due to moving. I’ve had a WP site for a few years, not as long as my Blogger site,nor as long as my time on BCUK (from 2005).

    I am going to experiment with the instructions; yearly archives would be tidier. I’ll have to think how to approach that. Do you have any ideas?

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      July 17, 2015 at 12:21 pm

      Thanks Menhir …. you finding will be invaluable to us.

      Like

       
      • menhir

        July 17, 2015 at 2:35 pm

        I’ve updated today as you will have seen. 🙂

        Like

         
  2. menhir

    July 16, 2015 at 1:12 pm

    p.s.

    Some sites indulge in pop up adverts; there are lots of lively pix on a couple of sites. You might handle some of the whizzy stuff well, better that I would.

    Like

     
  3. gillyk

    July 16, 2015 at 1:39 pm

    I have a couple of WordPress blogs already – it’s OK, but it’s harder to interact than on this site. I’ve thought of moving a number of times, but this always stopped me. If I can’t find anything better I shall move to WP probably, but I’m open to suggestion. Like you, I don’t want to lose years of posts – that’s my life there!

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      July 17, 2015 at 12:23 pm

      The thought of trying to grow a readership again feels quite daunting and somewhat demoralising.

      I might do a WP blog, just as an archive of this one … food for thought.

      Like

       
  4. Bushka

    July 16, 2015 at 2:25 pm

    Mmmmm…… 🙄 Not going to be easy – for me at least – to find a place like this Community. I’m also on Blogger. Very impersonal. Will have to see….. 😦 Hugs!

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      July 17, 2015 at 12:23 pm

      Yes, t is going to be hard letting go …. feeling a little “Better the devil you know” when it comes to blog sites.

      Like

       
  5. daryan

    July 17, 2015 at 12:28 am

    WordPress seems to be the obvious choice for me. What I’m unsure of is what happens on the 15th of December? Does this entire site just disappear, or will it remain, but we just can’t post anything new?

    I’ve got a funny feeling they plan to wipe the site to take out all the spam that’s built up on it…why am I suddenly reminded of the opening scene from Apocalypse Now?
    :/

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      July 17, 2015 at 12:25 pm

      I feel sure that come th 15th December there will be no site to access, to log into and none of the blogs will be viewable …. whether in some deep dark place there is an archive of what once was, I do not know, but essentially it will be as if it never was here in the first place 😦

      Like

       
  6. menhir

    July 17, 2015 at 9:52 am

    Hi,

    The .xml file instructions are specific to WP. There is help out there on the net in plain language, for moving stuff to other sites.

    I’ve looked at several other possibilities, they all seem to have gone off the planet, the links are either broken or, out of date.

    My old Blogster.com site is still alive much to my surprise, including my listings of friends, who most probably, are doing other things. It is an intuitive site. I tapped out a post this morning open to all. I’ll see what happens.

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      July 17, 2015 at 12:28 pm

      I think the current front runners are Blogger and WordPress …….

      I just don’t want to feel my new blog is like that dog barking in the woods with no-one around to hear, is it making a sound – type of thing 😦 Cyberworld can be lonely sometimes.

      Like

       
      • menhir

        July 17, 2015 at 2:43 pm

        Cyber space sure can be a weird place.

        🙂

        Like

         
  7. menhir

    July 17, 2015 at 9:54 am

    Did I mention there are many people we know already on Blogger and WordPress. Do both and see how it works for you. Make sure though, you let everyone know your new url.

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      July 17, 2015 at 12:27 pm

      My thinking is to make the move pretty soon and leave a last blog on here that is the address to the new blog, allowing plenty of time for people to switch over.

      Also to pop back here and comment on my experiences of moving etc.

      Like

       
      • menhir

        July 17, 2015 at 2:40 pm

        I have moved my posts from 2005 over to WP, did that last night. It was straightforward and very quick. I got an email overnight from WP to advise that it was all hunkydory. Comments went with posts too. As mentioned there are some doubles, which, I gather, is not uncommon. In my case though, they would not all be unexpected. I will get down to a bit of editing when I’m in the mood.

        Leaving the new url on the BCUK site is a good idea. You’ll need to link into a few people, which, for you, with your I.T knowledge, would be easy peazy.

        Like

         
  8. menhir

    July 17, 2015 at 2:42 pm

    P.S. that should read moved all my posts dating back from 2005 to 2015, (yesterday in fact) all in one go and it was fine.

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      July 17, 2015 at 3:13 pm

      From all the various places you’ve posted .. you’ve helped me make my mind up …. WP looks like being the frontrunner …. just need the enthusiasm to do phase on [get registered] and phase two [archive this place] before phase three [upload archive to WP], followed by phase four [advertise], finishing with phase five [blog away]

      As you say ….. simples!

      Like

       
      • menhir

        July 17, 2015 at 4:07 pm

        When you say archive this place, do you mean doing the PDF stuff? I haven’t tried that, it looks cumbersome. I use an iMac, (I think you do too)if you would kindly give me step-by-step-directions, I wouldn’t mind having a go at that. The .xml file transfer is a different process. As you know, I have done that. Where does the archiving actually archive (‘scuse all the alliterations)?

        Like

         
      • amgroves

        July 18, 2015 at 12:16 pm

        No, at the time of posting what I meant by ‘archiving’ was just moving this blog onto a WordPress blog and then considering what to do next, that would mean this blog was safely stored somewhere and easily accessible if needed or I decided to add to it.

        All that has pretty much been over taken now with the decision to go to WP. I have a busy couple of weeks after which I will read-up and start the switch over.

        Like

         
      • menhir

        July 18, 2015 at 4:39 pm

        I printed out the letter and the instruction via the links, for the migration, using two-sided page printing on two sheets of paper. (There were 4 sides printed). It made the steps smoother to work with, especially when seeking the various areas as outlined in an unfamiliar layout.

        I think I shall keep my two blogs going, Blogger, which became my main platform and WP. My decision now, is about which is to be my main posting arena! 🙄

        Like

         
  9. Miza-T

    July 18, 2015 at 1:51 pm

    I received the email from Blog today. I am at the moment doing the transfer to WordPress. Wait and see. I did have an account that I opened in 2010 apparently, but never used. One post only. Nothing will ever be the same but we can keep friends with our friends and share stories like before?

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      July 21, 2015 at 11:06 am

      Quite true indeed – this has been a special place with special people.

      I will post my wordpress details on here, I am panning to start the with over next month.

      do you still have the FB group for bloggers? Could you message me the link?

      Like

       
  10. Miza-T

    July 21, 2015 at 9:25 pm

    https://www.facebook.com/groups/229969083818979/

    I tried to invite you back but it says ‘You can’t add an old member of the group who hasn’t requested to join the group again’

    xx

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      July 23, 2015 at 10:27 am

      Darn it …. the link came up as broken, probably it is too long or something weird. Hate to be a bother, wonder if you could share it to my Facebook page :/

      Like

       
      • amgroves

        July 23, 2015 at 10:29 am

        Something tells me, this is not going to work 😦

        Like

         
      • Miza-T

        July 23, 2015 at 11:34 am

        No bother at all!

        Thanks for your insight of my WP, I shall check all posts (oh dear) to see what has too much information for the public, or too sensitive information.

        Like

         
  11. lilith_1508

    July 26, 2015 at 8:04 am

    Most of the Blog.de User are going to WordPress. 😉

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
