RSS

Hot Water Follies

19 Jun
dripping_tap

Let me set the environment – living in a terrace there are only windows at the front [my lounge] and at the back [kitchen and bedroom], sandwiched between those rooms are my bathroom, the inner hall and the cupboard with the water tanks in, this area has no natural light coming from anywhere unless the other rooms doors are open.  As it is just me here, I often do not bother with putting lights on, or it will just be the hall light, I rarely close my bathroom door.

The other day I was shuffling through my hallway and felt warmth under my foot – not unusual, it is where the hot water pipe is heading towards the kitchen/bathroom, after washing my hair/bod, or the dishes I regularly feel the warmth there..  I felt it again the next morning and it struck me, hang on self, you’ve just got up, no tap has been turned on, there should be no hot water flowing through the pipe to warm the carpet …. oh bugger ….. does this mean I have a leak?

Thoughts were overtaken by my tooth disaster [more in next blog], but every time I travelled through the hallway my toes felt the warmth from the pipe.  I lay in bed thinking, right need to phone a plumber, but where is it leaking, nothing in the kitchen is damp, the bathroom is a wetroom and everything is sealed.  I have visions of the nightmare as my hovel was ripped apart, flooring, tiling, walls exposed and broken through to find where the offending drip was dripping.  I could not hear any dripping or gushing in the tanks so it was a slow continual silent trickle.

A sighed, preparing myself for a serious financial hit, well another financial hit [just heard about the dentist bill].

Turning the light on in the bathroom, had a wee, tidied up, got my chair positioned to get up with I had shuffled on the bathroom stool.  Sat on the stool facing the sink, put the plug in the hole, turned and grabbed my hairbrush in preparation for washing my hair and noticed that there was water accumulating in the basin but no tap has been touched.

Then I saw it, the silent drip drip drip drip drip drip from the hot water tap.  I placed my extended digit at the swing arm and pushed it all of 2 millimetres and the drip drip drip drip stopped.  This was the leak.  Why had I not noticed it at any other time!  Well you see I cannot stand at the sink and wash my hands, and reaching from the loo is not good either because well wet hands, damp hands do not aid the getting stood up. I use hand gels and wet wipes. The semi darkness had not caught my peripheral vision and because it was silent it did not alert my ears.

  What a plonker!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on June 19, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

6 responses to “Hot Water Follies

  1. gillyk

    June 19, 2015 at 4:34 pm

    Phew – thank goodness that was all it was! Sorry to hear about your tooth problem 😦 I await the next instalment with bated breath 8|

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      June 21, 2015 at 1:26 pm

      Sometimes it is the most basic of thing, but the mind was practically rebuilding my destroyed dwelling and thinking of the mountains of paperwork.

      Will get round to toothy post in a day or two.

      Like

       
  2. KEGGY

    June 19, 2015 at 6:11 pm

    Wow. You are lucky. :yes:

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      June 21, 2015 at 1:27 pm

      I have reached the age, when the slightest thing that goes wrong sends my mind into a spiral of ‘worse-case-scenario’ being the ‘most-likely-to-happen’, lol

      Like

       
  3. Bushka

    June 19, 2015 at 6:23 pm

    Great effort for me not to laugh…..:)) BUT…want to give you a BIG HUG! – and a Kiss! 😉 Take Care, Luv! xxx

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      June 21, 2015 at 1:28 pm

      😀 😀 😀

      It was rather a ‘blonde’ moment

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
