RSS

longanimitas

29 May
patience

The old swing-o-meter of patience under control is swinging dangerously towards the nuclear stratospheric blasting …….

The long-awaited, much-planned, excitedly-saved for trip to London has a Poe-like axe pendulum or possibly the sword of Damaclese hanging over it ….. there is a forty-eight hour strike planned by the RMT due that day.  I have telephoned to see what my position is and as yet the strike is not comfirmed-confirmded it is only probably-confirmed, until it is confirmed-confirmed then I cannot be refunded or have my travel re-arranged.  Travel aint all that easy for me, not only do I have to book ages in advance, I also have to book the wheelchair assistance and the wheelchair space.  Also, on manic days, ‘stuff’ gets dumped in the wheelhair space and thanks to recent test cases, I nor the train peeps can make people shift their crap off of my seat as it were.  I have before now been abandoned beside the toilet door [delightful].

My internet connection keeps going ‘poof’.  The only thing that has changed in the last six months since switching to Sky, is the date.  Yet regularly my connection will sudenly drop and will return between seconds and hours later.  I have turned everything off, reconnected everything and tried again, no change.  I have replaced the filter box widget that is supposed to make a difference, it didn’t. 

The blog has been spam attacked.  I reported the user, by hitting the ‘inappropriate’ button and also sending an email to customer support [ha!] of course it will not make the slightest bit of difference.

The slugs are invading.  Like the annual Mods weekend and the Rockers convention, come the end of May trails appear around the washing machine as the slugs pop into my kitchen.  It started when I had my backdoor replaced.  Annoyingly we cannot see where they are getting in, possibly through the door seals.  They wander half way down the kitchen and wander back again. What attracts them??

What else, what else … the weather, we are approaching June and the weather has arrived in April.

Oh well ….. another coffee I think.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on May 29, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “longanimitas

  1. Bushka

    May 29, 2015 at 2:19 pm

    🙄 Hope your travels do not become ‘travails’….;) May they soon be resolved – before ‘Blast Off’….I really love that little ‘saying’ above.
    Snails? 🙄 Grrrrr…..trying so many different antidotes; snails seem to have answer for any anti-snail mechanism….
    Enjoy your coffee…..
    Hugs! xxx

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      May 30, 2015 at 1:40 pm

      It’s good old Major Murphy and Lord Sod stirring the pot again *sigh*

      Like

       
  2. gillyk

    May 29, 2015 at 4:26 pm

    Gaaahhh!! NOT like. You deserve your trip to London – hope the rail unions fail to strike!

    Our internet connection seems remarkably consistent, and when it isn’t we always talk to a real person and get swift service – we’re with Eclipse, if that’s any help.

    And as for that spammer … I have had an email back from the ‘support’ team saying they only have one person dealing with spam and they are on holiday, or something. In other words, they couldn’t care less :>

    I hate slugs!

    Hugs!!

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      May 30, 2015 at 1:41 pm

      We will have to brace ourselves fr the six week she down of offices, when the German’s go off on jolly haunts and there is no one to man the filters.

      Like

       
  3. Your Christian Friend

    May 29, 2015 at 4:32 pm

    I sure hope everything gets sorted out and the strike doesn’t go ahead. As for Internet connection, we have Sky and very very rarely have an issue. The worst provider we had was BT when we lived at Horn Pie. ((Hugs))

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      May 30, 2015 at 1:43 pm

      Whatever happens will happen, not a lot can be done about it. If there is a strike we can rearrange our travel for another time.

      Like

       
  4. menhir

    May 29, 2015 at 5:44 pm

    Ooh what a lot of annoyances.

    I have been in London when trains were on strike, only partially functioning and I wondered why there were any there at all! Around corners there were masses of standby buses should the overspill of populations require more wheels. They did not move… weird or what.

    It is not safe or nice for anyone caught up in transport action, especially in a major city with masses of bodies rushing around with all their accoutrements in tow. It can a terrible an experience for anyone who is not able bodied. Is it worth the risk?

    What must I have looked like when on one of the alternative London buses, hanging from a strap; a kind lady insisted I took her seat. I thought at first she was getting off the bus, but no, she stood for another fifteen minutes.

    Safety first Amgroves; the problems are intolerable when there is action that disrupts and to boot there are construction works that do the same. Understanding your predicament as I do, I really do counsel care.

    Hope you’ll work out something. xx

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      May 30, 2015 at 1:44 pm

      When I called them about it there are two options, a) full refund or b) rearrange, so we will go the following week instead. Just disappointing if we do have to delay or not go at all.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
