RSS

Enlightenment from the four-foot ninja

25 Apr
children

As I said before, Tuesday was hair cutting day, my nephew’s wife [always call her my niece, coz that is what she is, family] is an awesome hair stylist and so they all bundle round for KFC, a catch up, she harvests my hair and the boys vacuum up.

Ever since great-nephew was a two-foot terrorist he has been able to get my Henry Hoover out, plug it in, switch it on and [with minimal assistance] suck up some hair.  Well things have moved on, well in truth he was just shot up, and up.  We are still a month away from his fourth birthday but he is now lovingly promoted from two-foot terrorist to four-foot ninja.  He is far too smart, far too clever and remembers everything immediately – the classic toddler – lethal and totally adorable.

So he bounds in, off comes the coat, shoes and sunglasses [we are a seriously cool dude].  He spies the array of small cuddlies, he selects one and brings it to me asking “Get this from 2p’s?” [I reply yes], he selects a second one “Get this from 2p’s?” [again I reply yes], he goes back for a third and fourth and fifth, each time asking the question with the same inflection “Get this from 2p’s?” and i feel my reply becoming more and more embarrassed and timid, a cross between an intervention and being caught out. But in my defence, M’Lud, these are the result of close to ten 2p visits over the last couple of years.  His parents just beamed a smile.

Wanting to distract him from this hilarity, I asked him a question “Is that yellow one a Moshi Monster?” … to which he quickly and calmly responded “Yes, it says it here” and pointed to the laundry tag which has the name logo on it.  There was a definite undertone of ‘you should know that, Aunty’.

But the best was when he sat leaning against me as we waited for his Dad to come back with the Kfc, when out of the blue the following conversation happened.

Ninja :: I’m a little boy
Me :: Yes, I know. You are a little boy
Ninja :: I am a little boy cuz I stand up when I do have a wee
[Myself and Mum are trying not to burst out laughing, because he is utterly serious]
Me :: Oh right.
Ninja :: Yes, I do stand up

Conversation over.

That is one for the memory box, along with when he instructed his Nana as she was driving along a country lane that had a sharp bend in it “No Nana, don’t drive in the bushes, drive on the road” complete with aeroplane batman style arm signals, just to emphasis the point.

Oh boy are we in for some fun when he start school in September!!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 25, 2015 in General, people

 

Tags:

5 responses to “Enlightenment from the four-foot ninja

  1. Bushka

    April 25, 2015 at 11:59 am

    Be prepared for ‘journeys into the unknown’…..:roll: Great fun! ;)xx

    Like

     
  2. gillyk

    April 25, 2015 at 4:58 pm

    brilliant! I love watching kids grow up – it’s always unexpected. My two year old grandson asked me yesterday ‘can you see a thump?

    Like

     
  3. la_spice

    April 25, 2015 at 6:52 pm

    Wonderful!!!! :))

    Like

     
  4. menhir

    April 26, 2015 at 6:52 pm

    Never a dull moment. Has he told you the facts of life yet?

    What a fun way to have a hair-do.

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      April 28, 2015 at 9:55 am

      His baby bro/sis is currently under construction, due for completion around the end of July – next few weeks should be fun as Mummy’s tummy is growing” and such like.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
