RSS

Don’t Press THAT Button!!

24 Apr
brokenblog

I was doing something incredibly dangerous the other day.  I was logged into my hosting service where I work the two web sites I edit and caretake.  As with everything these days, they have a tendancy to ‘up-date’ and ‘improve’ things so I like to reappraise myself of what is where and what new toy they are trying to foist upon their users.  I have been intending for at least a year to revamp and begin from scratch my personal website.  The original one was created via iWeb on the Mac [free software] and while I sort of liked the pre-sets it was so folder heavy it took a mini lifetime to transfer all the folders and files to the server and then correct any snafues.  It was tired and needed a rethink as my life has been rethunk over the past couple of years, but it was not a task I was eager to begin, the thought brought a melancholy sigh.

I clicked something.

It went poof.

There is no un-poof button.

Brain needs as espresso hit to get kick started to have the minds eye idea of what I want the new one to look like.  Then create the various images and words for content. There is a great deal that goes on behind the scenes before it is all put in place and published [hopefully snafu free].

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 24, 2015 in Projects

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “Don’t Press THAT Button!!

  1. KEGGY

    April 24, 2015 at 6:11 pm

    Oh dear ! 😦

    Like

     
  2. la_spice

    April 25, 2015 at 8:40 am

    Oops indeed! 😦

    Like

     
  3. gillyk

    April 25, 2015 at 5:10 pm

    Good luck – having your new image foisted on you by circumstances!

    Like

     
  4. menhir

    April 26, 2015 at 6:46 pm

    My vernacular language at such a disappearance would be unprintable and as for posting about it in a moderate way, as you have, is to be marvelled at.

    I was surprised to hear that Apple codes something that’s file heavy. One of their virtues has been …I.T. Language light. As I have never set up a web site I can only surmise that chunky files could lead to complications. All the best with your new site.

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      April 28, 2015 at 9:54 am

      I just let out a resigned sort of sigh.

      Now if it had been the site about the musician I caretake then I would have been bluer than a fisherman’s wife on pay day!

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
