RSS

It’s gone all compost

21 Apr

What has happened to salad??  When did it go from a conflagration of slicing, dicing and dressing to garden clippings???

While out in the High Street, Big Sis and I trundled into Iceland for a few make-do essentials when I decided that I would have some prawns and salad for my dinner.  She grabbed a bag of salad produced by a nationally known brand name and off we went.  Later I undid the bag and tipped it into my dish, it did not look the appetising delight as imagined between the freezers but we make do.

Well, that is not all together what I thought.  My exact thoughts were it looks and tastes like roadside hedge trimmings.  My innards concurred and the cramping sent the alarm bells ringing and my digestive system accelerated the handling of these awful stalks and leaves.

Since when did ‘salad’ [as opposed to garnish] kick out the cucumber, the celery and the radish; when were the tomato, pepper and sweetcorn banished; as for the carrot, spring onion and beetroot when were they expelled from the ensemble.

Compensation of sorts tonight .. I am having my hair cut so Nephew, Niece [well neph’s wife but i’ll always see her as niece], the four-foot ninja and bump [there is another ninja currently in the oven] along with a bucket of KFC, the orgasmic gravy and fries – yes!!

 
12 Comments

Posted by on April 21, 2015 in General

 

Tags:

12 responses to “It’s gone all compost

  1. Bushka

    April 21, 2015 at 3:01 pm

    Enjoy your KFC et al!!!! Hugs! ❤

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      April 23, 2015 at 11:47 am

      We did :p

      And the left-overs for lunch the next day 🙂

      Like

       
      • Bushka

        April 23, 2015 at 12:36 pm

        Excellent….Waste not, want not! ;)xx

        Like

         
  2. gillyk

    April 21, 2015 at 4:32 pm

    I really don’t like all the salad stuff these days … lambs lettuce, watercress, baby spinach – doesn’t do it for me! I agree with you about what makes a decent salad :yes: Have a great evening, with not a salad leaf in sight!

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      April 23, 2015 at 11:48 am

      Exactly – hedge row trimmings does not a meal make!

      Like

       
  3. KEGGY

    April 21, 2015 at 5:27 pm

    I don’t buy those bagged salads. I prefer to choose individual items that I like in my salad rather than eat their choice. And they are so expensive too.
    I bought one of those ‘living salads’ last week. It’s a tray of lots of lettuces which you are supposed to put on the window ledge and pull leaves off as you want them. I bought one last year, transplanted them all (and there are many in the tray) into containers in the garden (and 1 on the window sill) and they will keep me in lettuce for months if properly looked after. 😀

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      April 23, 2015 at 11:49 am

      I wish I was still able to. I cannot bend down to get stuff out the fridge and standing long enough to do the slicing and dicing is a problem as well.

      Nor can I grow things, my track record is abysmal, even my silk flowers are wilting!

      Like

       
  4. foxhat

    April 21, 2015 at 6:27 pm

    Yes bagged salad seems to be weedkillered and preservatived to death.

    Certainly best avoided!

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      April 23, 2015 at 11:50 am

      I know some call it rabbit food but even they would have turned their twitchy noses up at that clippings.

      Like

       
  5. menhir

    April 21, 2015 at 7:14 pm

    KFC is tasty, after your hedge trimmings for tea, I think you deserved well known comfort!

    I use certain bags of salad, unless there’s some in my garden. It works out cheaper than buying several different kinds of leafy things. It is too early for for a garden crop, but I will have some when the weather warms up here. I admit it though, I do chop and slice the extra bits into the bowl, that is, unless I want a garnish. Not being master chef, that is a rarity.

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      April 23, 2015 at 11:52 am

      My ideal salad would have a lack of leaves, lol.

      Like

       
      • menhir

        April 23, 2015 at 2:56 pm

        Ah yes, there are many creative foodie things thT can make up a nice variety of salad dishes. 🙂

        Like

         

Leave a Reply

 
