RSS

Older no wiser

26 Mar

card2

Monday was my birthday.  I used to celebrate the anniversaries of my twenty-first, until the anniversaries out numbered the twenty-one, lol.  

When my Sister and I were going through the chuck out and sort episode I came across a brthday card she had sent me a good few many years ago, lol.  The loveable sarcastic quips she had added to the card made us laugh.  See what I have to tolerate from my family, insanity does not run through, it takes a seat and stays for tea! LOL.

We’ve done some daft, affectionate things down the years to celebrate milestones and occasions.  Managed to make her cry once *smug* for which she still has not forgiven me [I filed a box with cards from people who attended their wedding, as a silver anniversary gift].  My Mum always loved her birthday, because it was her day, as she came from a gagle of seven any other occasion was chaos.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on March 26, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

12 responses to “Older no wiser

  1. la_spice

    March 26, 2015 at 11:16 am

    Aw…. A lovely post. Many happy returns lovely lady x

    Like

     
  2. gillyk

    March 26, 2015 at 11:21 am

    Love the realism – that card is hilarious. Siblings!

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      March 27, 2015 at 2:48 pm

      LOL, yeah and umpteen years later not a lot has changed 😀

      Like

       
  3. Bushka

    March 26, 2015 at 12:34 pm

    Ahhhh….and I did not know? 😦 Belatedly…but nonetheless….a Very Happy Birthday….All Good Wishes for many returns of the day! What delightful memories triggered by that card…..Love and Hugs! xx

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      March 27, 2015 at 2:49 pm

      Thank you Bushka, I’m not fussed about my birthday really, it can come and go without fuss.

      Like

       
  4. Who cares

    March 26, 2015 at 6:49 pm

    Nice.

    Like

     
  5. KEGGY

    March 26, 2015 at 9:55 pm

    Ha, ha. She’s got a good a sense of humour !
    Happy belated birthday. You kept that quiet :yes: x

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      March 27, 2015 at 2:50 pm

      Yeap. Almost as good as the year she got me a loo seat for Christmas :p

      Like

       
  6. foxhat

    March 27, 2015 at 8:33 am

    I once wrote a poem for my wife’s birthday.

    Funny how the little personal things get remembered much more than presents.

    Mind you a friend of mine does keep a list of the presents everybody gives each other every Christmas. Now I believe in lists but I can’t get my head around that one!

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      March 27, 2015 at 2:51 pm

      The only reason to keep a list of who gifted you what, is to make sure said item is on display when they are invited to visit, lol.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
