RSS

La=De-Dar-Doh!

03 Mar
musicbrain

I need to get back into music, the sound of nothing is getting deafening, minor irritations are growing.  My up-stairs neighbour [he who yodels in Volare, still!] has a cough, a proper phlegmy drowning cough, when he starts and is hacking up a mouth full of yuck I can feel my gag reflex wanting to come out in sympathy.  Plus time is dragging, yesterday when my Sister was here we seemed to race through the chores and get everything done within an hour, which is most rare.

Music has always been an accompaniment to my world, but not my childhood.  The radio was rarely on [tv didn’t happen during the day back then], records were rarely played, but when I was sixteen my birthday present was a hi-fi for my bedroom and from then on music was played, whether it be tapes or the radio.  Not long after I started full-time work I bought myself a techniques system which had a cd player, so records, cd’s, tapes and even the radio were always on the go when ever I was in my room.  I had gotten into the habit of going to sleep listening to radio4 and it would be on through out the night.

When I passed my driving test the car was where I could play my music loudly [and scream along] it was an awesome stress relief and some how got you ready to kick ass at the world. I do miss my car time, bombing along the highways and byways with Queen, BLS, Rock Anthems, Jools, anything with a bit of attitude going at vibrating volume.

Classical music was usually played while I was working on something that required concentration, such as putting together web pages or researching, blog composing or writing letters etc.  When I stopped work I began having radio2 on to listen to Ken Bruce and that was my “at the compy” time.  

But that all stopped, and I am not sure when or why.  I have never been able to stitch while music is playing, the tv needs to be on for that.

I have had iTunes on while putting this blog together playing a random selection of classical tunes and I am already fed up with it.  also i need to make some phone calls to it will be turned off.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on March 3, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

9 responses to “La=De-Dar-Doh!

  1. gillyk

    March 3, 2015 at 2:19 pm

    That’s interesting – I am fascinated by how many people there are who play music all the time, and you’ve got a wide range of interests. To me it’s odd, because I very rarely have music on – I do like silence. Each to her own! Get back to it, girl 😉

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      March 3, 2015 at 2:36 pm

      My Sister likes silence. Although she does put music on when she is ironing or on a glorious sunny day when she is house working, hubs is out and she can have all the windows open.

      Silence used to irritate me but now it has flipped and it is the music that annoys me … but often just everything annoys me

      Like

       
      • gillyk

        March 3, 2015 at 3:31 pm

        That’s a rather horrible, miserable and tedious state of mind … I know that one :yes: and with much less cause than you. Hugs.

        Like

         
  2. Bushka

    March 3, 2015 at 3:02 pm

    Music in the background can be soothing….but also very distracting, if not irritating! Might well depend on the kind of music….:roll:
    However…..Music is indeed the universal language which affects ALL of the brain. Watch the ‘kind’ of music, though. 😉 x

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      March 3, 2015 at 3:40 pm

      Oh I have a mix from the thrash heavy metal [awesome when someone has truly offed your pish], blues, R&B, Rock, classic, classical but no Rap nor Country and Jazz al depends how is sticks to the rhythm rules.

      Like

       
  3. la_spice

    March 3, 2015 at 4:21 pm

    I am with Gilly in the silence is golden corner!!! :lalala:

    Like

     
  4. foxhat

    March 3, 2015 at 5:32 pm

    I have a few downloads from CD’s from the 60’s to date which I shuffle to produce a sort of timewarp. Seems to work for me!

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      March 5, 2015 at 2:07 pm

      I do like a good shuffle, but going from Cannon in D Major to heavy metal thrash does sometimes jolt the system, lol.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
