RSS

True Words

29 Jan
Churchill

One day I will get round to reading a biography about Churchill, I think he was an amazing complex straight forward character, the like we will never see again as the spin doctors, media snoopers and negative ranters of today would never see a character such as his back into the limelight [unless it was to ridicule as a celebutard type thang].  But I speak from a very uneducated basis, he undoubtedly had flaws, secrets and made mistakes.

Anyway, I have wanted for some time to write a blog around this particular saying because it does seem that whenever a person says something, and the sayer is someone who has peeved the press, then there are a mountain of reports about being offended etc.  While people have unprecedented freedom of speech, they seem to forget we also have the right to not listen, to hold an opposing view and to freely speak that opposing view too.

It really does chap my chompy bits when someone spews forth rage at something trivial they found offensive – recent example being the wanting to remove crosses as war memorial edifices as the cross is strictly a christian symbol [are they going to go after the mathematical + next].  Or that a public place serves bacon sandwiches [and there may be someone in the place who would find that offensive].  Don’t get me started on the ‘adults’ [term used loosely] who breed a dozen children and think they are being targeted by the nasty Mr Government when they cannot have a fourteen bedroomed house, with maid, and money for holidays thrice a year and not have to contribute a days work for it.

Stephen Fry was lambasted for saying ‘It’s now very common to hear people say, “I’m rather offended by that”, as if that gives them certain rights. It’s no more than a whine. It has no meaning, it has no purpose, it has no reason to be respected as a phrase. “I’m offended by that.” Well, so fucking what?’.

I do agree that, where appropriate, respect for others beliefs should occur, if someone wants to place a nativity on public display, then so be it. If someone wants to display light for Diwali, then so be it.  BUT, neither side has the right to expect or demand a carpeting of all to follow.  Freedom of speech and freedom to practise their religion openly, for the word freedom also say equally.

With freedom comes responsibility, with decisions come consequences and neither of these can be negated.  We are each responsible for ourselves, individually and collectively.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on January 29, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

8 responses to “True Words

  1. Bushka

    January 29, 2015 at 2:53 pm

    Well said, Ann! I’ve been saying this for a very long time…to and sundry who happen to ‘moan’ about free speech! Last sentence in your post says it all…
    Many people would have the ‘freedom’ but NOT the attendent responsibility. No doubt you will havew noticed such tendencies here on the blog…as well! 😉 Hugs!

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      January 30, 2015 at 1:02 pm

      I remember a Jeremy Vine discussion with a granny in a four bed council house, she lived alone and was complaining that she was being ‘forced’ to leave her family home where her kids grew up all because she had three spare rooms – she then added that the Council should be building more homes as her daughter and two grandchildren were having to live in a 2 bed damp flat. When Jeremy asked, would you not give up your home so a family like your daughter could live there rather than be squished into a flat ….. there was silence from granny, all she kept saying was ‘This is MY home, where I raised my children.”

      Nowt so queer as folk!

      Like

       
      • Bushka

        January 30, 2015 at 1:58 pm

        Too true Ann! Nowt as queer as folk….;)

        Like

         
  2. foxhat

    January 29, 2015 at 3:54 pm

    Yes I agree. Tolerance is a two way thing.

    My mother comes from Bladon (where Churchill is buried)and I remember her tending her parents grave there when I was young. Churchill was also an amateur builder and laid the first brick in my paternal grandfather’s house in Old road Woodstock. We used to have a photo of it.

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      January 30, 2015 at 1:04 pm

      Oh I say, my six degrees of separation just got a new branch … I know a someone whose granddad’s house was built by Churchill :p

      You just never know who knows who.

      Like

       
  3. Kim

    January 30, 2015 at 5:51 am

    Very interesting topic. I believe we’ve all been given free will by God in order to choose for ourselves the sort of life we want to live as well as what we will believe or not believe. People can be on opposite sides and still respect one another and get along. Sometimes being on “opposite sides of the fence” may make things awkward. Strong emotions may be stirred up when two friends find themselves at the complete opposite end of the spectrum on a matter that one of them believes is the whole reason for life… but love and understanding should still hold sway. I think you and I know this to be true in a very real sense as we are completely disagreed on the existance of God and the honour that is or is not due Him. As a believer, my relationship to God is now, and should ever be, the most important thing in my life. I may hope and pray with all my heart that one day you will discover the same, BUT that should have no bearing on the love I have for you as my best friend and the respect I have for what I believe is your God-given right to choose not to believe. I am in no way “offended” by your agnosticism/atheism. I love you dearly and if ever I may have attempted to share what I’ve discovered it was solely out of that same strong emotion.

    We must agree to disagree and attempt to leave it at that if at all possible.

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      January 30, 2015 at 1:07 pm

      With everything in life there are those who will agree, those who will disagree and those who will feel offended – it is how they then handle and put into context that sense of offence. Freedoms do not narrow down the options like a dictatorship [or fear] does, it expands them and sometimes the general public are not quite armed with tools to handle it.

      Like

       
  4. Kim

    January 30, 2015 at 4:29 pm

    As selfish as it may sound, the older I get, the more inclined I am to enjoy my private time, just me and The Lord.

    No squabbles or concerns about appearances or hurt feelings or gossip or misunderstanding… Nothing to debate or question… Just peacefulness and contentment. Mixing with other people is so much work, lol. That makes me sound terrible… But I’m too old for drama and worrying over what others think all the time.

    As it’s been said, “This world is not my home; I’m just passing through!” 🙂

    So I don’t worry too much about what everyone else says, thinks or does. I just stick to the eleventh verse from 1 Thessalonians four that says:

    “…Make it your ambition to lead a quiet life, minding your own business and working with your hands…”

    And another favourite in Romans 12:18 that goes hand in hand with the passage before:

    “If possible, so far as it depends on you, live peaceably with all.”

    🙂

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
