RSS

Dark Dreary Days

06 Jan
compdown

The utter dreariness of the day has gotten to my third eye and shut me down, I am struggling to motivate or enthuse about anything.  These days of January and February are just awful, waiting for the frozen white stuff to arrive and then depart.  I hate having to have the lights on all day, it makes me want to go back to bed, but it also makes me not want to get up of a morning either.

Still toying with the idea of an online course in ‘something’, there is an interesting site called Alison which has several online courses but still nothing really grabs me.  I am quite interested in their IT Web course it is only 15 hours and covers most I have self-taught.  I think I would like to find something more to do with English History but I do not want to spend any money, it would be different it these things were leading towards a job or occupation but really it is just something to spark an enthusiasm and expand some knowledge.

My eye lids are down to my knees and it is only jus gone 2pm!

I really really do need something new to get my teeth into ………

My mind is germinating a seed that things are coming to a close and changing [again], things around BCUK have gone from bad to worse and has meant that a fab blog buddy is leaving the site [promising to return as a reader], a group I am a member of is flagging and I think we are all struggling to create joyful, entertaining, amusing activities, a friendship is on the wain again … I am trying to assume it is the gloom that is flagging all these things up, but my cynical, suspicious nature is telling me otherwise.

My book at the moment is The Scarlet Letter – written by Nathaniel Hawthorn in the 1850’s, the language is a bit tedious but I shall persevere.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on January 6, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

9 responses to “Dark Dreary Days

  1. gillyk

    January 6, 2015 at 2:54 pm

    Sorry to hear you are feeling so down 😦 it sounds as if your home is a bit dark? Do you think you’ve got a touch of SAD and would would a light therapy lamp help?

    HUGS!!XXX

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      January 6, 2015 at 3:11 pm

      It is so cloudy and overcast today here, which is zapping any daylight that tries. I think I do have a form of SAD, I always hated this time of year because I was anxiously waiting for the dratted white stuff to fall and really bugger up my trying to get anywhere [ie to work]. I miss my craft lamp, the bulb went pffft and now it has stopped working, BroInLaw is checking the fuses but it might be time to find a new one.

      It is just a mix of lethargy, apathy, lack of day light and being January – it will pass. But it has all coincided with changes, people moving on and me being stuck in my same old same old, projects, things coming to an end and nothing replacing them.

      Like

       
  2. Bushka

    January 6, 2015 at 4:28 pm

    HUGS!!!! Those ‘Blues’ are sure to pass….to be sure.
    Hopefully, brighter light – SUNSHINE to be precise – will ‘lift our spirits’. xx

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      January 6, 2015 at 4:39 pm

      I feel this way to some degree every years .. curiously now that the day is ending and darkness is falling i can almost feel my energies rising .. I will close the curtain and it can be 4pm, 8pm or midnight and I will feel the brightest I have all day long …… I is just flat out weird!

      Like

       
  3. la_spice

    January 6, 2015 at 5:47 pm

    The dark dreary days will end and you’ll soon be winning loads of treasures at the seaside. :>>

    I am so sorry to have added to your downturn …. luvs yah ~x~

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      January 7, 2015 at 4:50 pm

      You haven’t really, just a symptom of things changing. I have felt for many months that BCUK is coming to an end, just cannot decide whether to try blogging elsewhere and cultivate a new crop of readers or to stop blogging altogether :/

      Like

       
      • la_spice

        January 7, 2015 at 4:54 pm

        You have so much to give and I would hope that you will continue blogging ~ whatever you do you must do for yourself. I have given my all to BCUK and am now spent. ~x~

        Like

         
  4. KEGGY

    January 6, 2015 at 6:47 pm

    The shortest day has passed, so it’s up, up, up from here…
    😀 x

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      January 7, 2015 at 4:51 pm

      I’ll start feeling that way by March 🙂

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
