RSS

Plain Straight Truth

02 Jan
bear
I am bored ….. that is the straight plain truth.

This morning I laid comfortably in my warm snug pit and mused, what to do, what to do, what to do …. I need something to do, something that I can do by myself, at home, at my own pace.  Sounds something simple to find, right? Wrong!  

You see said item has to have that thing about it that drives you to continue, has a reason, merit or purpose.  I could make another scarf but why when it will sit in a bag for decades or be haggled over for a couple of pound coins at the car boot sale, where as if someone arrived with yarn and said “Can you make this for me?” I’d would say yes, give me a couple of months [can only ‘do’ for 60/90 minutes a day before muscles give out].  I have long thought about some kind of on-line course, but again, why, when at the end of it, it leads to nothing more than hours filled, there is no reward or accomplishment.  I thought about becoming a better reviewer on Amazon and GoodReads with all the reading I do, but again, my mind flagged, the passion was not there to push forward.

In some ways I am missing the business I ran for years, I do not miss the stress nor the annoyances, but I do miss the organising, the working within deadlines, the getting things done -ness of it all.  Undoubtedly this is a symptom of my life, bodily I may be weak and unable but mentally I still crave the stimulation, the drive and the purpose – cruel things, diseases.  If someone came with a box of receipts and asked me to put them in date order, I would be in seventh heaven but I cannot be arsed to put my own bills in my own organised folder.

Anyway – there are chores to be seen to, jobs requiring attention.

  • Factory reset old Mac and contact recyclers
  • Wade through desk paperwork left over the past three weeks
  • Begin turf out sort of draws, cupboard, boxes etc [be ruthless]
  • Put Aberdeen photos and stories in the book
  • Find photo for new frame
  • WebSite update
  • Finish crochet shawl
  • Write the letters

Right, I must move, I have been sitting at this desk for too long and getting up is not a ‘succeed at first attempt’ option anymore.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on January 2, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

14 responses to “Plain Straight Truth

  1. Bushka

    January 2, 2015 at 3:07 pm

    :)) You are adept at ‘Making Lists’….to be sure! Not enough stimulation? 😉 Hugs! xx

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      January 2, 2015 at 3:10 pm

      I am intrinsically lazy about myself Bushka, a flaw, if the reason to do something is for myself then it gets left, if the reason to do something is for another I work all out on it. There are too many hours in a day and not enough energy or ability to occupy them.

      Like

       
      • Bushka

        January 2, 2015 at 4:13 pm

        Maybe you should get someone else to ‘ask’ you to do the things you need to do for yourself…..:roll: Then you’ll be doing those things for ‘that other person’…;) xx

        Like

         
      • amgroves

        January 2, 2015 at 6:15 pm

        I wish I could trick myself that easily, Bushka xx

        Like

         
  2. philswriting

    January 2, 2015 at 3:20 pm

    Instead of reading – write! Must be a book in there somewhere!! 🙂

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      January 2, 2015 at 6:18 pm

      Hello Phil, thank you for commenting. I’ve tried that, wrote a trilogy, did a course, got my passion so demoralised it’s never recovered.

      Like

       
      • philswriting

        January 2, 2015 at 8:08 pm

        What destroyed it? I found tradotional publishing routes did that to me too but have now started self publishing. Certainly enthused me!

        Like

         
      • amgroves

        January 3, 2015 at 3:35 pm

        The creative writers course I took, a a means of further education, totally ripped the heart out of writing. The criticism was not constructive nor corrective and effectively if you did not stick rigidly to the hard and fast rules of writing it was rejected. I was fully prepared for negative feedback, for corrections and critical comments but as this was a learning environment I [stupidly] thought that what I was doing right would be noted too.

        Now I just blog and even that becomes a tricky chore sometimes.

        Like

         
  3. gillyk

    January 2, 2015 at 3:55 pm

    Is there a local organisation where you could volunteer your admin skills online at home? You sound a very capable person looking for something to adopt. Any charity etc that floats your boat? Goodness me, I wish we’d had you on our doorstep when we were still in ministry – with your admin ability we’d have kept you more than busy :yes:

    On second thoughts, perhaps it’s just as well you weren’t 😉 :))

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      January 2, 2015 at 6:19 pm

      Lol, I might have tested you too!

      Like

       
  4. la_spice

    January 2, 2015 at 4:23 pm

    I like Gilly’s idea …. :yes:

    Like

     
  5. KEGGY

    January 2, 2015 at 6:47 pm

    I once worked with a man who in his spare time ran the payroll for a small company that did not have the capability themselves. He just bought an accounting programme and a decent printer and then input what he was given. It brought in some spare cash too!

    There are a number of charities who are looking for people to phone elderly people on a regular basis for a chat. Don’t know if that appeals to you ?

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      January 3, 2015 at 3:37 pm

      Sadly that fills me with dread, talking to people, I have nothing to talk about and I cannot do small talk.

      Hopefully something will spark my fire!

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
