RSS

Hurry up and panic

06 Dec
time-poor

Things are starting to gear up a notch and the calendar turned into its final home stretch.  The cards are done, some with short letters and photos.  I have not started the wrapping yet, mainly because I do not now where to start! I need to crack at it tomorrow because on Monday it is final city shop, so those last needs have to be gotten.  

We try and get done early because getting around with the wheelchair when the world is out makes life hard.  As a joke a friend persuaded me to buy a dogs squeaks cracker toy, as a sort of “mind me, shift your butt, thats me you’re about to fall over” alarm thang.  If you hear of riots and swat teams closing a city centre, it is likely me and my squeak causing civil disturbance.

Sad news, a family friend died last Sunday, I had known him all my life.  Bob had a calm patient aura, he was so amusing with his anecdotes and could have you in fits.  When it came to describing all things engineering his vocal sound effect were mastery itself.  I remember a story of when he and my father were off in France on a Veteran Car Club jolly, they were staying at a rather posh hotel and as the dessert plates were removed the waiter placed a thimble sized coffee cup before each person.  Bob lifted and looked at the cup, and then called the waiter over, he asked to see a breakfast cup, the waiter duly went of, slightly perplexed, and returned with something akin to a cup more like a small bowl.  Bob turned the thimble cup upside down on its saucer and placed that in the centre of the table, taking the bowl cup he placed that in front of him and said “You can serve the coffee now” with such a gentlemanly smile that the waiter did indeed fill the breakfast cup up with strong espresso coffee.  I wish I had had more opportunities and ability to visit more often.  He taught me fractions and I remember the sensation of the penny dropping as it all made sense.

I got side tracked last weekend by a new crochet project, those of you on facebook will have seen the evidence.  I am now on the round rows, 180 stitches around, does fair strain my elbow and shoulder, so I must be strict with myself and just do one row otherwise the arm is not so effective with the important stuff like, getting stood up.

To my pals and cohorts in Our-Place, I am working on a poem and I have some amusing carols for you.  I’ll likely post the poem sometime next week, BCUK permitting [keep getting ‘post does not exist’ thing every time I post anywhere – tedious].

Books – I have kind of gotten bored with writing reviews, you can only say “enjoyable, well placed, sensible plot, well written, good read’ so many ways before you feel you are repeating yourself.  Anyway, I have read Diary of a Nobody [very amusing], Hedda Gabler [mildly disappointing], Death By Deceit [interesting twist and herrings], The One You Really Want [fun, light, situation comedy style], Skeleton’s In The Closet [a bit slow, a tad silly, but well paced plot].  Still averaging about one a week, although I will soon be starting a book book, one of them eco-friendly, hard copy,non-electronic things [lol].  It takes me longer to read a paperback book as I cannot hold it as comfortably nor for as long as I can with the Kindle.

Right then, off to do my row and watch a spot of Harry Potter.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on December 6, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

7 responses to “Hurry up and panic

  1. Bushka

    December 6, 2014 at 4:08 pm

    That’s a lovely ‘catch up’ post! Making fine progress Ann!
    Sorry to hear about Bobs ‘passing on’….He leaves marvelous memories….
    Hope you enjoyed visiting Harry…I always do…. 😉 Hugs! xx

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      December 7, 2014 at 2:20 pm

      The version I read was a play text and likely lacked some of the nuances, I found it a little, anticlimactic …. will no doubt try another one – any recommendations?

      Like

       
  2. gillyk

    December 6, 2014 at 5:49 pm

    Wow – 180 stitches – that’s going some, Ann! Well done. Sorry to hear about Bob – it’s always sad when we lose somebody who has meant a lot to us. Time for some good memories.

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      December 7, 2014 at 2:21 pm

      Thank you Gillyk – another link to my roots has passed 😦

      Like

       
  3. KEGGY

    December 6, 2014 at 7:57 pm

    You are further ahead with your Christmas shopping than I am ! 😦
    I have only scratched at the surface so far. So what’s new ?
    It is sad that you have lost such a lovely friend. He will never be forgotten though, due to the anecdotes that people remember about him. I love the story about the coffee. I bet a massive bowl of espresso was hard to get through. It must have been awfully strong :))
    Ration your rows with the crochet and you will still get through the task. Just a bit slower :yes:
    I will look forward to reading the poem 😀

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      December 7, 2014 at 2:24 pm

      I still have not started the wrapping which I have been meaning to since last weekend, lol.

      Bob was a bit of a coffee and cheese connoisseur, but he hated potatoes, never had them.

      Like

       
  4. Come on January

    December 6, 2014 at 11:25 pm

    I don’t have any comment. Only letting you know I have been here and read the post. x

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
