RSS

MISSION – Close Enough

02 Nov
missioncloseenough

So far this weekend things have been a bit    I do to a job, or continue with an on-going one [you do not want to know how long it takes to upload over 500 photos!!] and as soon as I stop my energy drops to that of empty.  I am almost sure it is to do with the weather, greying skies, cooling winds, I must be a third eye person.  Yet, having said that I am still twiddling my thumbs, reciting the phonetic alphabet backwards and boxing the compass clock and anti clock as I try and drift off into the land of nod.  Maybe I am more a daylight or darknight person but this eternal twilight, drizzlelight, half light drives me mad.

Tedious is not the word.  I snuggled into bed at usual time, only read a handful of pages on my latest book before my eyes started to dry.  I turned out the light, cursed at the pillows, but drifted to slumber, I woke a couple of times [thank you hot flashes where were you when I was cold], but did my regular frequent wake ups and long time drifting off again.  When the bedside clock showed 8:50 I turned on the radio, if nothing else I could listen to BH, I never heard a thang as I woke to the sound of Elizabeth Pargetter chatting to her sister Shuulah Hebdon-Lloyd, The Archer’s had started.  

As the omnibus came to its end [oww-err , what’s going to happen there!!] bladder reminded me politely it was up getting time but brain as ever overruled and the next thing it was the pips at noon [so much for Dessert Island Discs].  Now this all sounds wonderful except why could this not have happened between the hours of 1am and 5am???  When I trying to get some sleep and now because I was wanting to stay awake and get up I have a thick achy head and a sense of drained energy.

Oh for the days of ones youth when sleep happened during darkness and awakeness happened during daylight and there was lack of either 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on November 2, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

6 responses to “MISSION – Close Enough

  1. gillyk

    November 2, 2014 at 2:53 pm

    Sometimes I wonder how many of us DO sleep properly … and I’m with you on the hot flushes :>

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      November 4, 2014 at 12:25 pm

      I think my sleep patterns changed as I approached puberty and with one thing and another they have been screwy ever since … my Sister is the same with her sleep patterns. Our Mother wasn’t a good sleeper either.

      Like

       
  2. KEGGY

    November 2, 2014 at 7:13 pm

    I am glad it’s not just me. I only hope that proper sleep will return one day.

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      November 4, 2014 at 12:26 pm

      Even though I know a great part of the problem is my muscle condition, one day I hope to wake rested and revived, lol.

      Like

       
  3. A grateful soul

    November 2, 2014 at 7:20 pm

    Thank God you got some sleep, and thank God you can sleep when you like because of being medically retired. It would be a much bigger problem if you had to get up at 5am five days a week. Anyway, I’m so glad you were able to rest. This is terrible to say, but others have been known to say the same– if you can’t sleep– PRAY. Most of the people I’ve heard recommend this say they rarely get to the end where one says, “In Jesus Name, Amen”. That’s at least an option for those inclined to prayer. I often ask The Lord to forgive me if I drift off mid sentence just in case I do.

    Psalm 127:2b
    “…For He grants sleep to those He loves.”

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      November 4, 2014 at 12:29 pm

      You know my views on that matter.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
