RSS

Granite laughter and happy tummies

27 Sep
enjoythelittlethings

I am back from my travels north of the bonny border, spending days with my BFF and her all-grown-up daughter.  I was trepidacious about boarding and leaving the aircraft not really sure or trusting the competency of the airports in handling wheelchair passengers, rather than those who are slow walkers.  Thankfully everything went reasonably smooth if not a little grab/grope. The technical terms for passengers such as I is Wheelchair Charlie [as opposed Romeo or Sierra].

True to form as soon as I arrive in the granite city the weather turns to fog, seamist and dank days – I was informed it had not been like that for a very long time, uhhuh.  Just us three gals together again, as we use3d to many moon ago, was lovely, stitching, talking, eating all the good food, playing games and finishing the jigsaw.  I was treated to a go in the bubbly jacuzzi bath, only nearly drowned once, I can still hear my BFF’s laughter as the jets sent me down the tub and stopped my feeble attempts to push against them.

What will stick in my mind, other than all three of us having plenty of bed space in the same room [separate mattresses, never too old to PJ party], is waking suddenly and bit fully com pus men tis to hear BFF declare “Wish me luck I am going outside to climb the ladder!” – I shall leave that teaser with you for a moment.

Aberdeen itself looked and felt a financially comfortable city, as we wandered the clean streets, there were a lot of people about that looked well dressed, in that their clothing were of good condition.  I only saw one homeless person begging.  Litter seemed to be non existent!  There were several groups about declaring “yes” or “No” to the referendum, it felt very different being in the place it would directly affect rather than t’other side the border [who would likely feel some affects too] I am not strongly politically minded but there was electricity in the damp air.  The variety of restaurants in their three shopping centres looked and smelt delicious – sadly didn’t get to par-take of authentic delicacies, save that for next time.

The Maritime Museum was an interesting building, right on the door step of the harbour, so many centuries of history, prosperity and tragedy links Aberdeen to the salty brine.  The exhibit showing how a polystyrene head had shrunk as it had experienced the pressures exerted by the water the deeper it went was eye catching.  Gift shop was rather lacking.

At the Art Museum they have a Kaffe Fasset exhibition, we got into the ornate old building and a helpful chap asked if we wanted the lift.  They use the exhibitors lift which means a brief backroom excursion before you come out of an enormous hidden panelled door.  I had not heard of this chappy but his textiles were so very vibrant and stunning.  Mind you the scarf at £168 someone chocked the throat.

We went down to the Esplanade one day, and yes there was sun shine bouncing off the deep waves, the wind was a bracing brisky.  Some hardy souls were having surfing lessons, I would imagine it a relatively safe beach as the tide goes out so far at low tide revealing a shelf like bed.  Although it does not take much imagination to see wild waves crashing and splashing when Mother Nature cranks thing up.  The char-grill aroma was too too tempting from TGI Fridays.

When all-grown-up-daughter had to leave for London, I could not help but shed a tear or several, it had been so very nice to see her after three years and feel like it was yesterday. Remember and reminiscing about the things we’ve all gotten up to and in to across our years.

Somehow I managed to not bawl my eyes until saying goodbye to my BFF at the airport.  Felt a right edgit as the helpful airport fellow wheeled me through the security cues, me sitting there tears streaming.  We sat on the runway for 20 minutes making us late arriving home.

Back home now and still not unpacked, still cannot get head organised when it comes to dinner and my arms and shoulders are aching like heck from having to be instrumental in this standing ‘up’ lark.

My BFF, her girls and I would be together practically every weekend or a day or two in the week, the break of three years flagged [with neon arrows and blaring klaxons] just how special, fun, entertaining, comfortable, normal our lives ran together and how much it is missed.  I am putting together my photos and writing my notes ready to put my travel diary together in a book my BFF bought me sometime ago that I decided I would use just for this purpose.

Sweet sweet arrivals and all too soon bitter sweet departures.  

Oh yes …. the ladder thing …. Well you see the smoke alarm in the Hall is mains connected with a battery back up, said battery must have been running out and it began beeping at 30 second intervals. You have to yank the think off the ceiling to open the battery draw. So she wanted luck as she went “outside” the bedroom to climb the step”ladder” …. I was wondering why she wanted to climb back in the house through a window!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on September 27, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

7 responses to “Granite laughter and happy tummies

  1. gillyk

    September 27, 2014 at 2:29 pm

    Sounds like a truly wonderful time – there’s nothing like time spent with old friends with whom you can be just yourself. I’m not surprised that you shed a tear or two. Hope it won’t be 3 years before you can do it again. Now back at home … be kind to yourself!! hugs xx

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      September 28, 2014 at 12:42 pm

      Our friendship would make one hex of an unbelievable move, lol.

      Good to be home, miss being away .. never satisfied, that’s me.

      😀

      Like

       
  2. Bushka

    September 27, 2014 at 5:11 pm

    Wow! Without a doubt you clearly had a Super time….Spoilt, if you ask me! Excellent Ann. So pleased for you that ALL went well. Good to have you back! Hugs! xxx

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      September 28, 2014 at 12:44 pm

      I was very spoilt … as she is when she comes here, lol.

      Coz we’re worth it 😉 [without the l’Oreal price tag]

      Hope all is good with you Bushka

      Like

       
      • Bushka

        September 28, 2014 at 3:08 pm

        All Well, Ann! Hugs! xx

        Like

         
  3. Your forever friend

    September 28, 2014 at 1:09 am

    I am so thankful for the wonderful time of fun, food and nostalgic tight-knit fellowship we shared from September 12th to 23rd, 2014. Though the weather was not as agreeable as it had been prior to your arrival I was still thankful for at least one or two days of sun. I am so pleased that, despite the passage of time and the potential clash of my renewed faith with your atheism, we were able to respect one another’s right to choose and get on as we have done the past 13 years, with relative ease.

    Next visit it will be my turn to come to Great Yarmouth and visit . In the meantime, we need to make a point of ringing more often and employing FaceTime to chat. I love you dearly my best friend and confidant. I will never take for granted the times we can share in person as once I may have done. Lets’s keep up with one another better, shall we? It means a lot to me. 🙂

    Love,
    Your BFF. ❤

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      September 28, 2014 at 12:45 pm

      It was great to get together and the icing was mini-musketeer being there too.

      Love you xx

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
