RSS

Stitch a week

29 Aug
image

I have finally gotten round to doing a job on my list that has been ignored, procrastinated over and generally put off.

My spine is very bent with lordosis, I have to wear a lumbar brace with a metal frame in it, the Velcro suffers from the daily tension and ripping and sometimes comes away from its stitching, because of the complete faff involved in getting it repaired (call GP get referred, call Orthotics to tell them I need an existing brace repaired, get to the hospital to drop it off, wait 4-6 weeks, go back to hospital to pick it up) I use my expert skills and with running stitch and blanket stitch and make the hole good to go.

One of my braces has needed its Velcro rest stitching and it has sat on the kitchen chair, and then on top the sewing box, then with the sewing box beside the sofa for around six months; today it got stitched!!

Now how long will it take for the repaired brace to get to the bedroom and the sewing box back in it’s designated spot???

 
10 Comments

Posted by on August 29, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

10 responses to “Stitch a week

  1. gillyk

    August 29, 2014 at 6:02 pm

    Well done – what a faff for you! I’m the same in that things which need mending sit on my sewing basket for ages and ages … 😉

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      August 30, 2014 at 11:11 am

      The faff is ‘progress’ *rolleyes* a few years ago all I had to do was take brace to the hospital then two weeks later it would be back, repaired, laundered and ready. Now the whole thing takes six weeks and the GP can never send the correct referral that is why I call Orthotics as well. No point taking up an appointment slot when I am only dropping off or picking up something [or even ether someone else can for me].

      Like

       
  2. la_spice

    August 29, 2014 at 6:46 pm

    You are one gutsy lady!!!! :yes:

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      August 30, 2014 at 11:12 am

      I wil admit I took a look at the eye of the needle and thought “Oh crap, thats shrunk”, lol. Fingers remained unstabbed and the needle didn’t fall off the thread or get lost either!!

      Like

       
  3. KEGGY

    August 29, 2014 at 6:56 pm

    Oh I am just as bad. I have been putting off turning up some summer linen trousers for so long that summer is nearly over !
    Glad you managed to tick one more thing off your list 😀 x

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      August 30, 2014 at 11:13 am

      Keggy – my Sister always uses the iron on thingy sticky band stuff. She says that the little extra weight makes the trousers hang better when she wears them, lol.

      Like

       
  4. Bushka

    August 29, 2014 at 7:19 pm

    Wow! Excellent Ann…..coming your way…..BIG HUGS! xxx

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      August 30, 2014 at 11:15 am

      LOL, i cannot believe so many are congratulating me on getting something done that I have been so tardy with. My comment to myself was “bout frigging time too, and it didn’t take that long either ”

      LOL xx

      Like

       
  5. foxhat

    August 29, 2014 at 10:31 pm

    Lists!

    Sometimes making lists is the only way I get through the day!

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      August 30, 2014 at 11:16 am

      Making lists is the easy bit …. doing the stuff to cross em off is the hard part, lol.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
