RSS

Who moved October!

26 Aug
talk2myself

Things have suddenly turned and changed this weekend, like the weather, well possibly even because of the weather.

Saturday afternoon while curled on the sofa, mind blank the sky got darker and darker and darker, the anticipation of ‘something’ coming grew and grew and as the skies got darker you knew it was going to be big.  The sky erupted, there was rain falling so hard and fast it didn’t touch the windows and you couldn’t see far, it calmed some but the rain turned to hail, tiny ice balls clattered and bounced and in the village where my Sister lives turned their garden into a winter scene with inches, yes inches, of lain hail.  The rumble of the thunder rattled the windows and doors, turning air pressure into an audible vibration, and the few strikes of lightning were enough to blind, even though it was only 4.30pm.

And cold, the temps have dropped, the wind has picked up and turned everything chilled and cold. It is August bank holiday and I am back in thick socks, wearing thicker clothes and the everyday cardigan and I am still cold …. so snuggler came out and was wrapped around my legs.  All this has pulled the rug from beneath my mentals.

My mojo came, saw, went back to bed.

For the past couple of days I have been having some physical issues, things not managing as they usually do and this is the most noticeable when I try and stand up.  Of the four places I stand the hardest struggle is always the loo and can be the one most likely to fail, second comes the sofa [softer landing when this one fails] and in equal place next the chair at the desk and my bed.  Yesterday I awoke with a crick in my neck [time to try another pillow configuration] and as I went to stand up from the morning pee my neck released an almighty crack, the type that makes you explete even though you never felt anything.  For the whole of the day, nothing worked properly, tasks that usual take little thought became so awkward.  Neck and left shoulder feels strange and last night pillow configuration didn’t improve matters.

I know I am in a mental rutt, autumn and winter are closing in on me and I am not ready for it.  I am trying to find new recipes to chivvy me up, trying to find the enjoyment in completing a task or the production of efforts – its tough.

Must do my grocery shop, I’d quite like to eat and what treat shall I tempt myself with ….

 
7 Comments

Posted by on August 26, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

7 responses to “Who moved October!

  1. gillyk

    August 26, 2014 at 1:24 pm

    Oh dear, I wonder what happened to your neck? Has the doc had a look at it? – especially as it seems to be having a chain-effect on the rest of you?

    Sorry you are feeling so down – although your description of the storm is wonderful. Here it’s rained for a day and a half, but now the sun’s out it’s really warm and muggy.

    Hugs!

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      August 27, 2014 at 10:25 am

      It is likely a mix of things conspiring together. Pillow configuration, sleep position, hormones, temperature changes, flexing .. bits of me often thump, crack and click unexpected, it is likely associated with my muscle wastage.

      The afternoons seems to be the coldest, my front room does to get any direct sun until 4pm, and with the strong cold winds we have had it had dropped the temps. Nice and sunny today, very light breeze, not too bad.

      Like

       
  2. foxhat

    August 26, 2014 at 7:46 pm

    Hope the temperatures rise a bit soon!

    That will certainly help.

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      August 27, 2014 at 10:26 am

      I am not ready for the dark grey days of the colder months, lol.

      Like

       
  3. freeasthewind

    August 26, 2014 at 10:03 pm

    :)) I am wanting cooler weather the heat and humidity is killing me literally. We have been getting rain and storms which cools it off for a while. Then back to humid weather. It is dog days of summer I am putting off everything until it cools down xx

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      August 27, 2014 at 10:27 am

      I’d say lets swap, lol, but know from experience how the southern states humidity can hit you like a bowling ball.

      Like

       
      • freeasthewind

        August 28, 2014 at 1:24 am

        Yes it can take you down fast xxx

        Like

         

Leave a Reply

 
