RSS

Strike-A-Light!!

21 Jul
lightning

On Saturday we had a one hours lightning and thunder storm in the morning and another lightning thunder storm just after 10.30.  I LOVE proper whip cracking window rattling storms, they fascinate me and had I been able I would have jumped into a car and driven to the cliff tops to watch it head out across the open sea.

Twenty years ago this summer I experienced three strikes in close quarters.  First the building I live in was struck, the corner of the roof [directly above the flat above me] looked like it had been ripped back, The sockets and switches in their kitchen flew across the room, the flats either side had their tv and phone melt, the ground floor flats either side of me had their tv’s fry ….. my place …. nothing.

Then sometime later where I worked, a country park, was struck by a massive splitting piece of fork lightning.  One arm hit an old oak tree and chiselled a channel three inches wide all down the bark sending the charred shards several feet away, the second arm of the fork struck the old telephone box and continued along the over head wire and fried the fax machine.  Bit of an oww-err moment.

Thirdly while I was away on my first sailing adventure we were merrying our way to the Canary Islands.  Sunning ourselves in the 80º heat, shifting with the even breezes.  First Officer liked to keep changing course so to miss the rain cloud but Captain preferred to just straight line it, and we did, into a thunder storm and guess who was at the helm when the lightning struck the tallest structure around within a 30 mile radius in the Atlantic Ocean????  Moi ….. Foremast is rigged as a lightning conductor.  All the same that was close enough!

It will likely be a few more years before we get a window rattler round these parts like Saturday’s event, my Sister who lives 5 miles from me just heard distant grumbles.  I did the usual 1 mississippi 2 mississippi 3 mississippi thang and when there was a blast of sheet and fork lightning I got as far as 1 missi before the thunder cracked.  I did wonder at that point whether to unplug the modem and computer.

Still all is well 🙂

Forgot to add a natty little app/webpage http://www.lightningmaps.org you can see in realtime where the lightning is flashing all across Europe [Poor Chec Repulic is having a doozey right now]

 
6 Comments

Posted by on July 21, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

6 responses to “Strike-A-Light!!

  1. sula362

    July 21, 2014 at 2:24 pm

    i think lots of us are getting storms at present. The price to pay for nice hot days 😦

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      July 21, 2014 at 2:51 pm

      I am right on the coast and this is the first we’ve had this year. So often they bypass us and strike 5 miles below us. Where I used to work we could watch the clouds take a detour .. weird .. must have been something to do with the pull of the water or the Earth’s magnetism or something

      Like

       
  2. Bushka

    July 21, 2014 at 3:51 pm

    Wow! Those were ‘close’…especially the one out at sea!
    I’ve also had a couple of close encounters…..out in Africa. One out in the open country….near a tree which was struck….:roll: Phew! Very exciting….if scary.;)xx

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      July 24, 2014 at 2:06 pm

      It is quite a power to see, lightning, mesmerising and captivating and white knuckle enducing all at the same time

      Like

       
  3. gillyk

    July 21, 2014 at 6:57 pm

    Wow! that all sounds very dramatic! How amazing that your flat was OK while the ones on either side of you weren’t … !!

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      July 24, 2014 at 2:08 pm

      I could not believe it! the strike was in the early hours, I continued snoozing completely unaware of the hit. Next morning I opened my front room curtains and saw a couple of broken roof tiles on the ground, I thought they had come off my porch way, so I rang my bro-in-law and he came round and my nephew walked in and declared “There’s a great big hole in your roof Aunty!”

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
