RSS

What booty be warm!

17 Jun
car-boot-sale-junk

5am is a bloody stupid time of a Sunday morning for anyone’s alarm to be ringing, mine didn’t, but that was fine because I had been clock watching since about 4:40.  My spine creaked, cracked and generally thunked as I encased myself in my brace, headed to the bathroom, dressing and then to the front room for shoes and a ponder – to coat or not to coat, or just thick cardy?  The day looked grey [as expected], the cloud low [as expected], no sign of dampness or rain [as expected] and not much movement in the trees so not much breeze [as expected].

Big Sis arrives, we debate, thick cardy decided.  The car is aimed towards one of the bigger car boot sale fields in our area, our pitch fee paid, we begin the setting up.  Bit breezier [as expected] but this is a flat exposed field.  Unlike last time when first sale was made at 6.10 .. this time it was 6.22.  Bit chilly though, as we were fortuitously placed within spitting distance of the coffee wagon, this was fine and most welcome.

The cloud remained thick [not as expected], the sun never broke through to warm things up [not as expected], the breeze turned into a more constant wind [not as expected], said wind brought a chilly edge [not as expected], I sat with car rug wrapped around my shoulders and neck, even my hardy Sister [she can sweat in a freezer!] admitted to being cold and was wrapped in a large towel.  The punters all looked miserably cold, although there were some sights!  Picture this, a chunkyish lady in her 30’s, heavy heeled knee high studded boots, fish net tights, short black shorts that were disappearing up her derriere, black long sleeved top and bright white bleached long hair – I felt several degrees colder.  The only happy bunnies were the dogs, they bounced, pranced, trotted and positively smiled as their wind whipped handlers trudged along.

We felt dampness in the air, oh no, no no no, no no no no no.  The cloud moved over.  We felt more dampness.  Not good, not as expected.  It was 11.30, we gave up, dropped the clothes back into the cases, placed the table top stuff back into the boxes, figured out how to pack the legs into the paste table [always takes two attempts.  Just sitting in the car out of the wind was luxury.  

When I got home, I experience a very weird sensation.  Now I am used to feeling cold, especially after being out and about late Autumn/Winter/Early Spring, but when I get home and take my shoes and socks off, usually the world around me feels about the same temperature as me.  Sunday as I placed by bare feet onto the carpet it felt like I had under floor heating, the warmth from the woollen threads was no nice, even the non-slipped bobbly flooring of the bathroom felt warm, but by far the weirdest was when I fell onto my bed and it felt like it had been pre-armed with the electric blanket!

It took hours to warm myself up, I laid under the duvet fully clothed and after listening to the Archer’s Omnibus and The News Quiz, I started watching the tennis final from Queens, but got up to watch the final set on the tv.

My Sis made a comfortable profit, even after deductions.  I made a loss, 1/2 pitch fee, plus bacon egg bap, plus coffee, less three items sold equalled a loss.  However my share of the Euromillions 2 numbers and a star match meant that by Monday morning I had a grand unbelievable surprising profit of ………………………………………. TWENTY PENCE!!

WooHoo  —  it has been rumoured that ‘we’ might do it all again in three weeks time.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on June 17, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

6 responses to “What booty be warm!

  1. Bushka

    June 17, 2014 at 12:43 pm

    Certainly sounds like an interesting, if rather ‘coldish’ Sunday ‘Out’..;) Make sure you wrap up warmly next time…..unless, of course, the sun shines. 😉 Warm Hugs! xx

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      June 17, 2014 at 1:25 pm

      Oh yes, next time it will be a coat regardless! When we did the booty two weeks ago I got sunburnt! Blooming British weather!

      Like

       
  2. hazgeoff

    June 17, 2014 at 12:52 pm

    Take a flask next time, less expense = more profit, enjoy your boot fairs.

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      June 17, 2014 at 1:25 pm

      Really I should have done without the bacon and egg bap, the coffee wasn’t that pricey.

      Like

       
  3. gillyk

    June 17, 2014 at 8:48 pm

    Lots more layers next time, I guess … when, as you say, it will probably be a scorcher! At least with layers you can take them off as well as put them on.

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      June 19, 2014 at 4:35 pm

      Regardless it will be a jacket job next time, even if it will be July!! Blooming weather!!

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
