RSS

Silence With An Accent

15 May

loud-silence

Some say it is golden ….. those with kids think it is ominous …… but just recently round these parts it has been deafening.

I know for sometime I have become a little intolerant of noise, I rarely tune in the radio, spin a cd or playlist the mp3’s anymore and have not been enthraled by audiobooks either.  But the silence is LOUD.  It is distracting and unsettling, coming close to turturous like a dripping tap or a ticking clock.  

There does not seem to be the traffic or movement around to make noises, no roadworks or lawnmowers, no delivery vehicles or chattering voices.  Every morn I ease back the curtains and the world outside my window looks and sounds like a silent Sunday.  Yet the medical centre is still open for business, the primary school is in its academic year, the road is not closed or diverted, busses trundle up and down.

Am I going deaf?

With spending so much time in my little dark hovel, I know I am bright light adverse, having to squint and sniff back watery eyes when I first leave my cave.  Is the same happening with my ears, because I am not making sound am I no longer as tuned to hearing them.

Well no, over the past couple of weeks when it was not raining [so very intermittently] the workmen have been here working on my block and their radio has been one and I have found myself playing ‘name-that-tune’ as the strains and baselines burrow into my ears.  My new neighbour in the flat above makes more general noise than the previous one [no, he is not DIY-ing at 3am] just heavier footed and has a tendancy to throw his tea spoon into the metal sink when he makes a cuppa after coming back from the pub.  

So I am not going deaf?

But this silence!  

There could be a reason, the soft tapp-tapp-tapping, it’s all getting a bit ‘Poe’.  The culprit is not one but four, each at its own rhytmn, each with its own tap, and none of them co-ordinated, I feel akin to someone working in a clock shop where every clock is a fraction of a second different.  Could these charming little innocents be the cause of my torture? But they are so cute!

Solardancing

 
9 Comments

Posted by on May 15, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

9 responses to “Silence With An Accent

  1. Bushka

    May 15, 2014 at 3:49 pm

    Brilliantly written Ann….Love it! I love silence…and ‘know’ how deafening it can be……I can imagine your ordeal triggered by those ‘charming little innocents’….HUGS! xxxxx

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      May 15, 2014 at 3:55 pm

      Thank you Bushka. I think total silence would be restful, but the hint of a repetitive sound almost becomes unendurable.

      Did my post show in your feed? I am having issues with glitches and customer support.

      Like

       
      • Bushka

        May 15, 2014 at 4:01 pm

        Indeed! Consistent repetitive interruptions enhance silence….:roll:
        :yes: Got your post showed in my feed…as usual. :)xx

        Like

         
      • amgroves

        May 15, 2014 at 4:02 pm

        Oh goodie 🙂

        Like

         
  2. Kim

    May 15, 2014 at 7:38 pm

    I’m not sure if I’m welcome here or not. I just wanted to say nice post.

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      May 15, 2014 at 7:58 pm

      Thank you 🙂

      And yes, you are most welcome.

      Like

       
  3. deleted user

    May 16, 2014 at 2:36 pm

    I find it very hard to read when the background is black.Sorry.

    Like

     
  4. Kim

    May 17, 2014 at 10:00 am

    I too at times look at the CD player/”boom box” on my dresser and think,”Hmmm… Do I want to listen to something while I stitch or write in my journal.” Sometimes I just shrug and say to myself “Nah, I can’t be bothered”… But other times I’ll put on three consecutive discs of Faure or the Chopin Nocturnes and turn the volume down to a background level. I almost always enjoy it.

    I’ve lost my taste for anything other than Classical music, hymns and occasionallly a bit of soft jazz. I also do not like to listen to the radio. Even on Classic FM there is far too much human jabber interruption. Lol, on top of that, I don’t find that the Classical station is serving up adverts that compliment their playlist. For some reason I bristle a bit when taken from enjoying a lovely Beethoven sonata directly into hearing someone brushing their teeth and spitting or someone rabbiting on about how I should play Paddy Power bingo!

    My how I’ve grown old! 🙂

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      May 18, 2014 at 3:14 pm

      Now the daft thing is I cannot stitch or crochet without some form of noise be it the tv or an audio book, lol.

      I am like you with classic fm and other commercial radio stations, the adverts annoy me, the repetitive annoyance is grating.

      Yes age is catching up with us all.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
