RSS

In The Club

26 Apr
blogging

Well it is has been a curious changeable kind of week round these parts.  Bank Holidays always seem to throw the days around it into turmoil.  Everywhere has a stillness evocative of Sundays when there was no trading allowed and tv didn’t begin on any of the only three channels available until late afternoon – I know, shocking, almost bordering on utterly deprived.  What did I do as a child, oh yes, homework, piano practise, church choir, tidy my room.

Spent the week waiting for something to arrive in the post and because of Easter weekend it took a leisurely four extra days.  Guff, trash and menus arrived a plenty and seeing them piling up on the floor was bothersome.  Sometimes when I see programmes about lone persons homes and you always notice junk mail and take away menus scattered around and I fret that one day that will be me.

A brief visit to the Arcades to spend my Easter eggs was pleasant but lacking in a something [and a someone].  Some of the jobs are getting seen to but half heartedly and a little too slap dash too.  My homely menu has developed an edge of mundane similarity.

I truly am lacking in general motivation, I am ardently struggling to find the impetus to begin and reward to finish, anything.  It is amazing to realise just how little a person needs to put structure into their day; take that micro spec of necessity away and the days fall apart.  It takes with it the joy of things, the contentment of things, the satisfaction of things.  Even with the news of something to really give one the spur to begin something new and a deadline to completion and the appreciation of efforts, lacks the sparkle.

We have booked tickets for the shows this year, only two grabbed our attention, in September “Putting On The Ritz” and in November “One Man Two Guvnors”.  At some point my old Mac needs taking to the Apple Store for recycling too, had great plans for uploading old tapes and saving them as mp3’s, did a couple, can’t be arsed with the rest.

Seeing as I might actually like to eat something next week I had better get to my grocery ordering.  

Saturday night tv *shudder*, might watch a film instead Mansfield Park maybe.  Where are all the great comedies, light entertainment – oh good grief.

I have just made a shocking realisation!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I’ve become a fully fledged, gold standard, fellowship member of the Grumpy Old Women’s Club 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 26, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “In The Club

  1. gillyk

    April 26, 2014 at 4:31 pm

    Oh welcome to the club :yes: nobody judges in here 😉 Sounds as if you could do with a good break – get away somewhere and come back refreshed, hopefully?

    I know just what you mean about discipline etc etc … I really liked Lent because I got my time organised … and now it’s all fallen apart 😦 and I need another think!!!

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      April 26, 2014 at 5:11 pm

      I’d quite like a break …. but I’d like a break from being me, lol. Just going off spontaneously, my every moment requires forethought and planning and stragetizing – I have an -ology in logistics being disabled 🙂

      Like

       
  2. Bushka

    April 26, 2014 at 4:46 pm

    I liike that….Grumpy Old Women Club…Presumably, that’s the one similar to the Grumpy Old Men’s Club? 😉
    Your posts are always fun to read….not to mention…informative. Thanks Ann. Enjoy whatever you do….even if we are all experiencing some ‘malaise’ at this time of the year…Spring, notwithstanding. 😉 Hugs! xx

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      April 26, 2014 at 5:12 pm

      Yes Bushka, but worse, as the GOW comes with hormones!!

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
