RSS

Crochetty Doings

17 Mar
notmywool

For quite a while I was fascinated with watching my best friend crochet wonderous items from double bed sized blankets to pettite baby booties, I seemed to almost become hypnotised by the twists and pull of this one little hook [tried knitting we didn’t get on, my thing as more cross stitch, embroidery and dressmaking].  

She had a project idea of producing small stuff to sell and the funds helping towards her daughters Uni stuff course needs, I gave in and let her teach me how to do the few basic stitches and within an afternoon was merrily crochetting away making a broad headband.  Scarves were the next natural progression, especially when she literally dumped a huge suitcase of unused yarn on my floor.  Together we crochetted squares and made it into a friendship blanket [which I have] and I have also dabbled in a few other things like neck warmers, and doggy coats.  Below are a few snapps of my progress [click the image for the bigger size]

UrbanCoat3  UrbanCoat2  The doggy coats

Broomstick Scarf  Broomstick 2  Thye broomstick scarves

Neck3  Neck4  The neck warmers [a non bulky alternative to a scarf]

Croc ProgressCroc Done  The crocodile stitch neck warmer

PapillonScarves The Papillon scarfves and a neck warmer

24stacks  Done  Thye friendship blanket

Not all the things I have done have been photographed – we never did get round to seeling any of the stuff, it is still sitting in my friends chest of draws.  I am still not through the suitcase of yarn.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on March 17, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

8 responses to “Crochetty Doings

  1. la_spice

    March 17, 2014 at 12:06 pm

    I love the crocodile stitch neck warmer :yes:

    I must admit to having to re-read one bit where I thought you said “dodgy coats”!!!!!! :)) :))

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      March 17, 2014 at 1:16 pm

      I thought the same as I typed it!

      Not keen on the croc, I was doing it with very thick yarn and it reminded me of a bathroom mat, but that is likely because I have seen and worked and swore at it rather than just see the finished item.

      Like

       
  2. Bushka

    March 17, 2014 at 12:32 pm

    Looks like a most enjoyable ‘engagement’…..;)xx

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      March 17, 2014 at 1:17 pm

      I can only manage an hour or so before buts of me protest at the sitting position or tension in muscles 😦 Still it fills the time [and floor space]

      Like

       
  3. gillyk

    March 17, 2014 at 5:41 pm

    Those are fab – wow, what a talented lady you are. I too love the croc neckwarmer.

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      March 18, 2014 at 4:26 pm

      Thank you Gilly – you know looking over the pictures I suddenly realise how good the stuff I have completed really does look, lol.

      Like

       
  4. freeasthewind

    March 18, 2014 at 3:22 pm

    I love the broomstick ones. I am going to do one with that stitch at the moment I am doing the Jacob ladders and basket weave.

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      March 18, 2014 at 4:29 pm

      I looked up the Jacob’s Ladder stitch – WOW – that is set to be my next project scarf. I have a red/white/blue variegated yarn which I hope will be ideal for it. Thanks for the stitch suggestion 😀

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
