RSS

Number me blind

16 Feb
too-many-numbers

HHHHEEEEEELLLLLLLLPPPPPPPPPP

I know, not a word often heard from my lips, but you see Google has confused me and Bing has let me down .. so I turn to you wise worldly fellows for some intelligent assistance [is that enough sugar soaping grovelling coz my knees are hurting and this sweetness is making me nauseaous].

Trawling through a mountain of World War 2 papers and so forth trying to find what might be deemed as a ‘personnel number’ or ‘Civilian Contractor Number’ or a “US Army Number’ ….. numbers everywhere.  Why this fixation with numbers there are 26 letters and only 10 numbers, you’re gonna run out quickly!!  I digress, I am wondering whether you know, or you know a group or organisation who might know, what a particular numerical format might relate to.

I have things like CWS-[a number to do with grade] and I have an enticing #NNNNN [symbol and five digits, sometimes prefixed with AGO], and also a AG-NNN[again N being a number].  All very mind boggling, I am almost sure the first set it to do with rank and grade or a work acronym but the other two are more intriguing.

Any thoughts be much appreciated.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 16, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

6 responses to “Number me blind

  1. Bushka

    February 16, 2014 at 3:52 pm

    🙄 In a complete ‘Maze’….I am…;)

    Like

     
  2. gillyk

    February 16, 2014 at 3:55 pm

    Have you tried Kaye Bewley angelwithabullet.blog.co.uk, who works with the army?

    Like

     
  3. freeasthewind

    February 16, 2014 at 7:40 pm

    I am at a total loss

    Like

     
  4. sula362

    February 16, 2014 at 9:34 pm

    no idea, sorry…….

    Like

     
  5. foxhat

    February 17, 2014 at 3:57 pm

    Is this US army?

    If so this link might help if WW1 or later

    http://www.archives.gov/st-louis/military-personnel/

    If earlier there is a Washington equivalent.

    Maybe if you send them the references you have they may be able to work out who it is if you are unable to provide a name. You may have to explain how you are related and how you have the info to get round data protection issues, but a bit of persistence (which I suspect you are good at) should get you there in the end!

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      February 18, 2014 at 2:12 pm

      Yes, it is for one of their forms that I am trying to locate which is the right number. I think I will complete the form as best and send a photo copy of one or two of the papers so they can see for themselves.

      Long shot as so many of the USA Military Archive was lost in a devastating fire in 1973, but worth the stamp to find out.

      Thank you Foxhat xx

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
