RSS

Medical Waste

16 Jan
Boggling

Like most things it started with an innocent phone call “we had a letter from the assessment unit and your doctor would like to review you”. Hmm, well okay but how do you review something that does not exist! My Muscular Dystrophy has no medical care, management or treatment.  Still, an appointment was made and we hoped it would not raining when it was time to go.

The day arrived with slight rain and off we wandered down to the surgery, to find that my doctor was already 20 minutes behind his appointment schedule (maybe he had a long breakfast). I will admit my attitude was not at its best, so often I meet a medical professional who has never heard of my condition, has no knowledge what to do with me and I thought here we go again. 

My name was called and we made our way to do is small not exactly Wilcher friendly consulting room. My doctor stared at me blankly, well this was the first time we’d ever met since he became my doctor over eight years ago, he asked what he could do and I looked back at him remarking “but you called me”. He clipped and tapped away at the computer and remarks are yes we have a letter about cramp in your leg.  I said “no, I made comment that I sometimes but rarely get cramp in my hand and wondered if this was a dietary indicator because of my diminished muscle maths”.  He clicked again and made mention of a pill review, at this I could not help but laugh as I said I don’t take anything.

At this point he even wondered if they had called the correct patient, concluding that they had he did say “it seems someone has been over a girl and we did not need to see you”.

i nodded.

He agreed that it had been a complete waste of time.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 16, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

4 responses to “Medical Waste

  1. foxhat

    January 16, 2014 at 5:05 pm

    Oh dear. Not a good experience.

    We have changed Doctors recently. I found if I went to the old ones they would send me for tests for whatever was the worst outcome. When results for that were negative they lost interest and I was left with the problem I went to see them about in the first place!

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      January 18, 2014 at 1:41 pm

      I did wonder if as he had me there he would send me off to the Nurses for the dreaded bloodtests for everything he could imagine, sugar, cholesterol, ck etc. Height, weight checks and once I was in their grip I’d never be free – but thankfully no, I escaped!

      Like

       
  2. freeasthewind

    January 18, 2014 at 12:39 am

    I went to a Saturday appt as they couldn’t get me in to the one I ususally see and this one was more stupid than the rest. and did exactly nothing so am still sick and will see the new one tues will see if she is any better than the rest or if it is give you the same thing that isn’t helping and call back when or if it is worse

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      January 18, 2014 at 1:44 pm

      Doesn’t it get you mad – you make an appointment, you struggle to get there, you answer their questions and be concise and specific with symptoms and then send you off as if you’re lying!

      Hope you get sorted soon xx

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
