RSS

A Screen Too Far?

21 Dec
4screens
How many Macs does it take to sort out a Windows8 laptop?
Or should that be
Four bright screen, three scrolling mice, two telephone and an AM going out of her Treeeeeee

Both would be apperpro – the task in hand simple, after downloading iTunes files from Windows7 laptop, just upload them to the new Windows8 one.  Yeah right, ‘should be easy’, well straight forward methods one and two failed, plan c never got as far as page two and to be honest I really really almost lost it completely.

    

So this morning, armed with coffee and screens galore, no interruptions [hopefully] nor anyone hovering about wanting to be a ‘helper’ or try and understand what is going on [which means become thrice as annoying] I set to and tried again.  The thing was that iTunes was not finding the files to play and I could not find them either, they were not showing anywhere.

 the files and folders must be ‘hidden’ – but Windows8 being Windows8 there was no ordinary simple straight forward method to achieve this.  Off to Google and a short video lesson later with various tick boxes unticked, files were found.

YIPPEE!!  …. come and get the thing before something else needs fixing!!

Actually, yes I do have two Macs, you see Santa brought be a shinny new one as my six year old one is having issues with some sites and connections because it cannot be upgraded further. I am in the throws of transferring things across and weeding out the crap you seem to save for later.

Done the last of the christmas stuff – one gift quiz, tell ya about it after the event.

Be good everyone and if ya hear any jingling balls, beware 

 
5 Comments

Posted by on December 21, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

5 responses to “A Screen Too Far?

  1. la_spice

    December 21, 2013 at 6:13 pm

    I thought I heard jingling bells but they were obviously your jingling nerves!!!!

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      December 21, 2013 at 8:01 pm

      I have not been in an environment using a windows systems for so many years now I have not kept up with its quirks … It does drive me mildly batty.

      Will try and quietened my jangled nerves so as not to confuse or disturb, lol.

      Like

       
  2. gillyk

    December 21, 2013 at 8:34 pm

    Well done that girl!

    Like

     
  3. NotBob

    January 5, 2014 at 11:23 pm

    My new lappie came with Windows 8 pre-installed which I later upgraded to Windows 8.1.

    I have decided only ever to use it because the CD drive works, otherwise I’ll be quite content with my previous lappie which is running Windows 7 quite happily.

    I’ve even investigated through the Micro$oft help forums whether it would be possible to downgrade the new lappie to W7, but it turns out that if it comes pre-installed with W8 you’re stuck with it for life, but you can buy and install W7, though W8 will still be there as there is no way to uninstall the damn thing!

    I thought I was the only one who thought the latest version was a pile of something you’d rather not tread in on a dark night but there are even people posting queries on th MS forums asking how to revert to Vista of all things!!!

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      January 6, 2014 at 3:45 pm

      There has been loads of issues with W8 and indeed W8.1 ….. I think computers in general have become so complicated with all the things they can do and things they connect or tap into that when the boffins tinker they do not know how far all the tendrils go and thus is f**£s everything up.

      It’s becoming like shopping at the supermarket, just when you remember where your product of choice is, they shift the shelves around!

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
