RSS

Not Ready!!

13 Dec
christmas mess

Hello – remember me??  Yes I know I have been AWOL for the past couple of weeks, after the blog-a-month and stress of business with christmas preparations and general umbuggerances I could not gather the enthusiasm to write, type, blog .. you know what I mean.

Sometimes blogging feels like the round robin christmas letters, each year I would spend ages putting together the family news, and in the days before I had a word processor I hand wrote them, it was something I enjoyed but as the family has shrunk and the activities lessened the not getting any replies began to annoy and so I stopped and no one has noticed.  Sometimes blogging feels like screaming in the woods, even if someone hears will they do anything.

Let me see, the christmas cards are 90% written, the presents are almost gotten but the wrapping has not started, the decorations are still in my Sister’s attic.  The christmas menu’s have been discussed, agreed and noted, the shopping list compiled, the dates set to do said shopping have been diarised.  Best of intentions have been thunked.

Dishes have been washed, counters yet to be wiped, laundry done and folded but still sitting on the bedroom floor, cards that have arriven are piled on the shelf [gawd knows where they will end up], bathroom cleaning avoided, hoover gathering dust in the cupboard.

I am shattered.  I have been experiencing bouts of fatigue and insomnia, I know it is just because so much is going on and around in my head.  At the moment I feel like just hunkering down, keeping low and wading on through.

Business has been frantic, with one Director dilly-dallying about the proposed changes, with the deadline coming ever closer finally agreed, but that has brought the deadline to get stuff done a week closer, meaning a week less to go through a vast amount of information and get things ready for the new incumbent.  I am so looking forward to it not being my problem anymore  although I am fully aware it will take some retraining of the brain to truly unthink about what needs to be sorted.

I cannot count the number of times I have thought or seen something and wanted to blog [usually as a disgusted rant] but even with the dictation tool, I just could not be arsed.

blog.co.uk and I are experiencing a persistent problem, whether logged in or not, whenever I click ‘comment’ a new window opens with an advert [war game, shopping, web site talky tool etc].  Tech said i had a virus.  I said If I have then s has the local Apple Store, and Curry’s as well as my iPad and BroInLaw’s Laptop.  They said found something and sorted it.  I said Nope, still happening.  Tedious but that is BCUK in a nut.

Oh heck, need to reserve grocery delivery shop spot and write letter to aged piano teacher who always send generous cheque.

I’ve no time to be here!!!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on December 13, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

7 responses to “Not Ready!!

  1. joebangles

    December 13, 2013 at 4:04 pm

    Hello Anne, there are a lot of things that take the fun out of Christmas I find as I get older, and sadder as I look back over the Christmas card lists from a few years ago and see how many names are crossed out. It is not much fun writing csrds and envelopes alone, it was once a joint operation that raised a few laughs, my memory has started to go and folk move house, just hope that the card that I sent gets forwarded, but, if it didn’t would they miss it?

    Daily posting for the month took the pleasure out of doing it, I will not do it again and although I did have a few regular commenters that I appreciated it became a chore.

    Christmas day I will be alone, I have had some invitations for dinner but it is my choice to spend the day with Tom the cat and my memories. Christmas is not a time to attempt to enjoy the day if you don’t.

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      December 15, 2013 at 2:25 pm

      I totally agree and get what you’re saying. Blogging everyday did take the enjoyment from here for me.

      It is hard to explain about the day. I love being at my sister’s but if for any reason I was not I would be perfectly content at home on my own, this does not mean I don’t want to be with her, we make fun and laugh and play board games, I’d miss it if it didn’t happen but if it didn’t happen I could easily be at home, doing as I please restfully.

      I wish you well Joe [that song was on tv the other night I sang your name instead of the lyrics, lol], here is to the mystery of 2014 xx

      Like

       
      • joebangles

        December 15, 2013 at 5:35 pm

        I was listening to that song back in 2007 Anne when I was joining this blog, a lot of water gone under the bridge since then.

        The Christmas presents will all be delivered a couple of days before Christmas except for those that I have for Lucie, she will be coming with her mum and dad and her grandad and granny a few days later and we can all enjoy her opening them.

        2014, a new year, not expecting much to change but that is the magic of it, we just never know.

        Like

         
  2. gillyk

    December 13, 2013 at 6:28 pm

    Sorry you’ve been feeling horrible. Do hope the insomnia becomes somnia, and you start to feel better. Hugs xx

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      December 15, 2013 at 2:26 pm

      I have never been a good or consistent sleeper since my teenage years, but when my bad sleep gets worse … it is all a circle and cycle, stress, fatigue, insomnia, I am sure ince the stress subsides normal bad sleep will be resumed, lol.

      Like

       
  3. foxhat

    December 14, 2013 at 1:25 pm

    I don’t think I’ve started yet!

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      December 15, 2013 at 2:27 pm

      Next year they’re getting cash in a card …. or even easier, electronic payment into their bank accounts, lol!

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
