RSS

Stamp Me, I Am Going Postal

30 Nov
postal

I am about to significantly blow. I despair and throw my hands up in the air.  I know you cannot please all of the people all of the time, nor some of the people some of the time but no one for any of the time?  Really has no one listened to me in over three years [quite likely].  I ‘run’ the business of the management of the flats where I live, I have been in sole charge for the past ten years, and for the past three years I have been telling them what my work would cost in the outside world [£2000-£3000], what a management agent would charge, this July I wrote and told them that they have five months to either take it over themselves or get an agent coz come 1st January 2014, I QUIT!

Trawling local directories and the internet I found a local company to do the work, big firm loads of clients and positive testimonials.  I arrange a meet and discuss and they give me their charges breakdown and answer questions and so forth.  I put together the proposed budget for 2014, factor in their charges and wing it off to the Directors. One has a conniption fit because it is so high, when in reality it could be twice as high, some of the complexes around here pay twice as much or more and have little control.  Wants to now how ‘we’ can manage to get the costs down, can ‘we’ ask another company.  It is explained, again, that fair warning has been given to all, that the charges are reasonable, that factors upon who is capable enough to do the work are discussed, the differences between a landlords agent and a RMC Managing Agent, the pit falls and potential fines if things are not done right.  Still, yes, when each flat gets the bill they will moan and complain and gripe and opinionate – it is all my fault I have allowed them to live on easy street for too tooo toooooooo long. Reality is going to chomp their fat backsides good and hard.

I have no qualms and a thick skin, others are stressing.

Earlier this week the water company just appeared unannounced and replaced all the water meter, popping a grotty photocopied sheet through the door saying we may experience pressure change, air in the system etc …. now my toilet cistern is hissing, I think the ball-cock valve s not quite shutting off the supply. Bugger and botheration – I detest things like this because I know what to do, if I had muscles I could do the two minute job [lift odd cistern lid, adjust nut, replace lid, flush to check] but I don’t, I have to bother someone else or pay someone.  I’ll bother my bro in law next week.

Sometimes I get to feeling that people only make contact with me because they want something, they want to complain at me, or off load their woes, they want me to fix something or find something, can I research something or ell something online for them, or figure out how something does not work – so few times does the phone go and the person just wants to her my voice and ask me in a non-small-talk manner whats going on with me.

Then I get annoyed at myself, I have completed the blog a day thang for November and have not dedicated the time to it I should, not read as many other people’s various posts as I should, not posted about the things I could.

I know, I am too hard on myself, things will work out.

Home made spag bol tonight … and it is the uber easy tea, just reheat the frozen second portion from last week 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on November 30, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “Stamp Me, I Am Going Postal

  1. Bushka

    November 30, 2013 at 4:35 pm

    Hugs! Will work out all right Ann! Hugs! xxxxx

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      November 30, 2013 at 4:41 pm

      Thank Bushka xx

      I tink I am more annoyed at myself for thinking things would be any different. Lord Sod, Major Murphy and Fusilier Fate have a great deal to answer for 🙂

      Like

       
      • Bushka

        November 30, 2013 at 4:51 pm

        :)):)) That’s my Ann….Let’s face up to them…..;) Hugs! :)xx

        Like

         
  2. gillyk

    December 1, 2013 at 9:40 am

    I know that feeling – that everybody only ever wants something from you, and nobody seems to have any understanding that you might be a person who would like the odd friendly enquiry from time to time.

    Maybe your shrugging off this responsibility which clearly you’ve done extraordinarily well for so long will lead to a fluttering in the dovecotes – but that’s not your problem!!

    Wishing your loo a speedy recovery and you, health, happiness and good friends … hugs!

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      December 1, 2013 at 4:04 pm

      I often wished I had had a ‘me’ to do for me what I seem to do for everyone else, lol.

      Like

       
  3. freeasthewind

    December 2, 2013 at 4:20 am

    Hugs my friend

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
