RSS

Clipping my tree

09 Nov
autumn-tree

No, it is not a euphemism  mucky minded bunch of bloggers.  

I have decided that after ten years I have uncovered as much as I can in my family tree researching, I have four tress, each beginning with a grandparent and each going back a minimum of 4 to 5 generations and a couple even a heck of a bundle further.  So time to download and correlate all the information and then I can cancel my Ancestry subscription.

Being the paper-work-o-holic that I am, I have as I have gone along created in Word, profiles for each of the key players, detailing as much of their life history [birth, census data, occupation, addresses, marriage, children, death, etc] and put them into a book.  I toyed with the idea of creating a proper published book but there are so few images of my kith and kin it would be a futile exercise.  I just need to make sure that I have up-dated their profiles and downloaded copies of census entries and other documents.

Of course there are three rum buggers who are driving me insane trying to find that final piece of data, they are two great-great-grandparents and a great-grandparent who died somewhere at sometime since 1911.  I wrote letters to living relatives but none of them bothered to reply, so I may have to content myself with these three gaps.  Annoying, because they have to be somewhere and the info many others have plumped for are the wrong person.

I am also itching to try a new crochet pattern.  My 5mm hook infuriates me because it always catches the yarn, it does not slide evenly.  A friends friend suggested brushing over some clear nail polish, so I am going to give that a try.  and if Santa doesn’t being me a new 5mm hook, then the New Year Fairy jolly well will.

However, the above is all hypothetical unless I actually ‘do’ it.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on November 9, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

7 responses to “Clipping my tree

  1. Bushka

    November 9, 2013 at 2:10 pm

    🙄 I have a feeling you might well return to the ‘Tree’…after a litlle break…..;) Hugs! x

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      November 10, 2013 at 2:20 pm

      Well there are hundreds of reasons to bring this research to a close, lol, namely I could spend the subscription money on other stuff.

      Also, sometimes having a deadline makes you work at it.

      Like

       
  2. la_spice

    November 9, 2013 at 2:48 pm

    I agree with Bushka!!!! :yes:

    Giving up isn’t in your vocabulary!!!

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      November 10, 2013 at 2:21 pm

      It’s it giving up so much as reaching/ completing the goal

      Like

       
  3. freeasthewind

    November 9, 2013 at 11:59 pm

    I agree take a little break then go on with it. Me I am still trying to finish the afghan picked up the wrong hook and then had to take out 17 long long rows so am having to those all over. yuck. Hugs

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      November 10, 2013 at 2:22 pm

      Oh ouch on those rows. I can sympathise.

      Like

       
      • freeasthewind

        November 10, 2013 at 4:23 pm

        Yes you think I would have seen that the stitches were just one size bigger but oh no had to wait until I did all that work. So now back to redoing it xx

        Like

         

Leave a Reply

 
