RSS

My Every Word

14 Sep
hang_on_every_word

Sooooo, how’s it all hanging folks …. a little bit to the left maybe??  I’ve had a couple weeks of “Oh wow’s” and “Oh No’s!”, each of which is met with a “Meh” of philosophical resignation.

As some of you saw, an author commented on my review posts of his books and offered to send me hard backed copies as a thank you souvenir … definitely an “Oh wow”.  I suddenly felt rather responsible for my words, well you never really think about who is reading your ramblings and how it may come across to them personally.  Sadly I had to decline as my Muscular Dystrophy has depleted my dexterity and strength for comfortably holding books, turning pages etc, so an “Oh no” … but the meh, did little to placate the disappointment.

The guy I work a web site for is coming to the Uk for some special gigs with his Dad and he wrote a lovely email to me, inviting me to the gigs, free tickets and back stages passes.  Another “Oh wow”, I was touched to be considered for the generous gesture.  Buuut, yeap my Muscular Dystrophy means I cannot just up and go and it has fallen at the time of year when there is no one who can haul my arse on a trip like this, the deflating “Oh no” put me in a mooch for a couple of days.  The philosophical meh, belying the disappointment.

I have been having some lovely snuggle duvet time, either at night reading kindle or in the morning, just resting and day dreaming … lovely …. then I get up and the back ache starts and the arm cramps begin and all that has been left undone can be left no longer.  Painkillers are of no help.

Had a narrow escape from disaster in the bathroom a couple of weeks ago. The foot came off the adjustable leg of the stool I use in the bathroom and nearly pitched me to the floor. It took quite a feat of balance to shift my weight and shift the three legged tipping stool to the loo where I could then stand up.  The foot is irreplaceable and a new stool will cost about £50+, so I am wondering if I can manage without the added height, dare not try it but will have to, hair needs a wash.  But I did win a £5 note in the slot machines.

I had planned to spend next week finishing my family tree research, I have two people that seem to have dropped off all records from 1911 and had a spark of determination to track them down but no, something else need more urgent attention.

Since sending out my resignation letter no one [other than the two directors] has made any comment, nor offered to take on any aspects of the three jobs I do.  The new owner the flat near me had given the wrong number flat to the water companies [mine], so they closed my accounts and sent his bills to me!  Took a few phone calls to explain, No I live here, he lives there, no I have not moved, no I don’t own his place, he is just the idiot who cannot remember his ow address.  A second flat went on the market but the owner/landlord sort of absently forgot to let me [as Management Company representative]that he had placed it up for sale,nor that he and his family had moved to Aberdeen!  Well a buyer has been found for that one, so now it will be paperwork for the solicitors, a mere 50 pages or so.  Blow me, if another flat has not gone up or sale!  And a further one might be once I can trace who is handling the owners affairs [he has been taken into elderly care].

Up, down, up, down, up, down, such is life.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on September 14, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “My Every Word

  1. gillyk

    September 14, 2013 at 4:27 pm

    Sorry to hear of your disappointments 😦 and however much I admire your philosophical shrugs I know that it’s not always easy to do, nor does it reflect your real feelings. Time to organise a treat for yourself, maybe!

    We’re having problems with our freeholder … tell me about it.

    Hugs! Wish we could meet for a goss and a coffee. Or tea.

    Like

     
  2. la_spice

    September 14, 2013 at 4:49 pm

    What date(s) does your arse need hauling???

    Perhaps I/we can rally round somehow???

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      September 15, 2013 at 2:24 pm

      Thankyou for the thought and gesture, but I mean physically lifting my dead weight in/out up/down chairs, cars, beds, toilets etc I really really do appreciate your offer though xxx

      Like

       
      • la_spice

        September 15, 2013 at 2:30 pm

        You know I really would have done so if required :yes:

        Like

         
  3. Bushka

    September 14, 2013 at 5:48 pm

    You’re doing well with your ‘approach’ to thes ‘ups’ and ‘downs’….your ‘condition considering’…..;) HUGS!!!!! xxxxxxx

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
