RSS

Last Frayed Nerve

29 Aug

oh_snap

I sometimes wonder whether I ever would actually snap, as the latest trivial groan wings towards me, and spurt forth the diatribe of profane sarcasm that my brain is screaming at me as I retain my poise and business manner.

Sunday was an ‘almost did’.

Some people round here drive me to tearful aggravated tantrum despair and are the reason I am quitting being the dogsbody. It was late evening, around 8pm and I heard wheelie bins being moved. My first thought was that someone was being rather over eager as not only is our collection day Tuesday, it would be a day later this week because of the bank holiday. I glanced and noticed a bod wheeling one back and wandering towards his flat. The second thought flashed across my mind with an accompanying sigh of inevitability.

The phone rang – even though it was a withheld number I knew exactly who it was and why they were calling.

The perpetual moaner of the downstairs flat wanted to moan [in a fashion that clearly says, do something about this, now]. The persons of the upstairs flat was placing their bin outside the window to climb on top of. Reason being, upstairs bod had accidentally locked themselves out of flat but the windows were open and they were trying to figure out how to climb in them.

Did downstair moan offer a light hearted ‘Oh dear!’ at their plight [No], did they offer to call the landlord for the spare key [No], did they stop to ponder who might have a ladder [No]. They launched into a tirade of how disrespectful and rude upstairs fellows were, how the upstairs fellows had disturbed the peace, were making noise ‘all the time’ [gross exaggeration]. How downstair moaner was constantly living on nervous edge of upstairs coming home making noise.

I held my last nerve and said “There is nothing I can say and nothing I can do” but it was obvious downstairs moan wanted to moan and gossip and fish for information; she got short shrift. What I really wanted to say to downstair moaner is not something I would even type here, not because of the blueness of phrase but because in the cold calm of Thursday it would seem excessive.

I imagine I am now on her naughty and rude list – such pleasant company on it.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on August 29, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

8 responses to “Last Frayed Nerve

  1. la_spice

    August 29, 2013 at 2:53 pm

    You are having a trying time of things both on and off blog!!!! 😦

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      August 29, 2013 at 3:01 pm

      It just got worse ….. this could well be bad enough for a friends only blog!! *takes hold of hair and pulls*

      Like

       
      • la_spice

        August 29, 2013 at 3:03 pm

        Oh dear …… 😦 *hangs onto hat!*

        Like

         
      • amgroves

        August 29, 2013 at 3:23 pm

        You might wanna postpone your move back, coz if I blow ……… :p

        Like

         
  2. gillyk

    August 29, 2013 at 2:54 pm

    I do hate it when people moan for the sake of it and care so little about others that they can’t be bothered to do anything positive. I’m joining you in the almost-snap corner!

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      August 29, 2013 at 3:03 pm

      The laughable thing is the downstairs moaner frequently laughs about her old clunky washing machine waking everyone up at 6am … talk about do as I say not as I do …. me thinks the grave would be too noisey the earth worms better wear carpet slippers, lol.

      Like

       
  3. Bushka

    August 29, 2013 at 5:47 pm

    Upstairs, Downstairs…..In-Blog, Out-Blog….
    Hope you can read this….;)
    HUGS!!!!!! :)xxxx

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
