RSS

The Deadly Blank Screen

03 Aug

mac-screen-blank

It’s that heart wrenching, gut churning, mind whirling moment when you go to wake up your trusted Big Mac ….. and nothing happens!!

This happened this morning, just got my first coffee, clicked the mouse [Big Mac is usually left to sleep, he doesn’t get turned off every night] and no response .. so you do the thing every one does, you wiggle the mouse and click the button harder and still nothing.  You can feel the doubt and fear rising in the back of your mind and the flush coming to the face.  I pressed the power button on the back for 5 seconds but still no sound of recognition, no stirrings,no familiar firing up sound.

Panic officially arrives ……………………..

Okay, brain I know this is pre-coffee but could you possibly apply the ‘lets think calmly’ app?  Like most people’s computer desks, there is a tangle of wires down the back, everything [Big Mac, router, printer, phone] is plugged into the surge protecter sockets, even the phone line is surge protected [building has been struck before, luckily nothing in my place got fried, unlike neighbours].  The router is working fine, the ipad is fine, the internet is fine, the phone is fine, [turn it on] even the printer is fine – just Big Mac is dead.

I was trying to recall if anything weird happened yesterday and could not think of anything.  I was at the desk, doing vitally important business [candy crush saga level something] when my Sister and Bro in Law arrived [hot dogs for tea ], I remember quitting my browser but could not remember whether I had put Big Mac to sleep, or accidentally turned him off or just walked away.  Recollection quadrant vaguely remembered seeing screen saver twizzel round but memory could not add a date or time stamp so that was unreliable.

Hmm … I was chatting to my BFF at the time and was discussing with her my options.  I would need to call Apple Store and set up a genius bar time, either a fuse has blown or the whole caboodle has given up the ghost [it is 5 1/2 years old, not that old for a mac surely].  Before that I would need to confer with Sister about when would be convenient to go the 30 miles up to the City, the logistics of carting me, wheelchair, Big Mac, various accoutrements [time machine back up, programme discs] to the store.  The bank manager app in my head was having a heart attack at the thought that I could be facing the prospect of purchasing a new machine, the financial advisor was calming him down and rationalising the investment, precautionary alert me was thinking telephone credit card people tell them there may be sizeable purchases at the Apple Store today please do not block them.  Business me was flapping about getting accounts done, bill sent out, letters dictated, all of which could easily wait a month, project me was thinking, how can I research I need to research.  Me me was just entering grieving mode at not having my beloved faithful comforting entertaining connected Big Mac there.

You know, you could try unplugging everything and plugging it all back in again [ahh,yes, the coffee was working].

I could do that.

Never know, and if it does not sort it out, you’ve got the working ipad, the world will not end.

Contemplative wee later and I switched everything off, unplugged cables, tidied the twisted ones, blew into holes, plugged everything back in [in different sockets], switched them on – took a deep breath ….. eased my finger towards the on button …. hesitantly applied pressure.

And

Waited

YES, OH YES YES YES … the reassuring sound of start up [if you’ve ever watched the film WALL:E it is the sound he makes when recharged] …. the screen pings into bright life.  All is as it was, blessed relief.

I love you Big Mac

 
10 Comments

Posted by on August 3, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

10 responses to “The Deadly Blank Screen

  1. la_spice

    August 3, 2013 at 12:23 pm

    Phew!!! I think we’ve all had those sorts of moments. 🙄

    :wave: Enjoy the rest of your weekend ~x~

    Like

     
  2. c1a2c3t4u5s6

    August 3, 2013 at 1:34 pm

    I am a great believer in the switch it all off method.

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      August 4, 2013 at 1:15 pm

      Me too.

      Also the “check the sicket is switch on at the wall” thing too, lol.

      Like

       
  3. freeasthewind

    August 3, 2013 at 3:17 pm

    Ahhhhh had that happen also. Terrifying to say the least. My phone did that this morning and realized I used the amount allowed for that. Thought my phone was on the way out. Anyway glad to hear you up and around hugs

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      August 4, 2013 at 1:15 pm

      I think it just wanted some tlc, a little tantrum and some time-out, lol.

      Like

       
  4. deleted user

    August 3, 2013 at 10:12 pm

    dont think i could live without my imac now lol

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      August 4, 2013 at 1:14 pm

      Nor me … i am contemplating about seeing if I can upgrade from the 10.5 to the new system this year, but it feels like I am sending my baby into major surgery!!

      Like

       
  5. NotBob

    August 6, 2013 at 9:48 pm

    My first reaction would be the “Three-Pin Reboot” method.

    Or, as I’ve had to do many a time on the lappie, the “Three-Pin and Battery Reboot” 😉

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      August 9, 2013 at 12:26 pm

      Yes, the three-pin-reboot did the trick, but heck it was a cold feeling when it didn’t start first thing, BigMac is always so reliable [maybe it is hinting for a holiday or protesting about my ipad useage]

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
