RSS

Melting ……….!!!!!

01 Aug

aweebithot

So we have the hottest start to August for years, decades … the forecasters on tv and weather apps mis-calculated the highest temperature by a meer 10ºF …. the windows are open with the curtains part closed to divert the direct sunlight, the door is open to allow the breeze, flies, bees, gnats, butterflies and anything else that flies, in.

Now I love the heat, for once I am clad in t-shirt and shorts without the hint of a goosebump anywhere, but it does make my eyes sweat, I get sniffy and teary as my eyes water from the brightness and humidity.  To add to the general stickiness of things, I have to wear a lumbar brace.  This delightful item of Vivienne Westwood-esque torture sits from under bust to over hips and is made of the heavy thick girdle elastic of Playtex delight.  The back contained a pouch where a metal frame is inserted [covered in polyester nonbreathig cloth] to help support my spinal lumbar spondylosis [most people back is a nice ( mine is more a

When the weather gets like this I tend to put a wet wipe on the comfort pad to aid hygiene [after all backs are not the easiest to wash, wipe and dry] and also be a little cooling.  The comfort pad can be removed and washed, but it takes days to dry, even if left to bake on the window sill and there is only one issued per brace so I have kept the ones of old to try and cycle them.

As I have aged since the last summer of sun I have found the nights worst of all. Now I am not quite attired like Maralyn Monroe, cotton undies stay in place, but now I am swimming around the bed trying to find the position that does not send part of my anatomy numb and also keep my back cool but my extremities not cold.  For someone who already suffers from poor sleep, this is a battle to the brink.

I wish there was an invention that worked opposite to the electric blanket, something that took the heat away as you lay on it, because I often find I feel like I am sleeping on a hot plate when I get into my preferred position.

Still I can cope with this heat far far and even further than being cold.  But Mother Nature, please could I have just one night of torrid rain and temps something of a comfortable low 60ºs variety, just for one slight 8-10 hour period, pretty please?

 

 
8 Comments

Posted by on August 1, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

8 responses to “Melting ……….!!!!!

  1. hiyaitsfiona

    August 1, 2013 at 1:51 pm

    We have the coal fire on here in Scotland 🙂

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      August 1, 2013 at 2:14 pm

      🙂 I had heard you were chilling out up there.

      Like

       
  2. la_spice

    August 1, 2013 at 2:08 pm

    Oh dear I can’t begin to imagine what it’s like ~ well actually I can and it’s awful!!!

    If only we all had built in thermostats :yes:

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      August 1, 2013 at 2:17 pm

      I have often thought my hypothalamus was fritzed … now the weirdity is when I wash up or wash my hair, the water is reasonably warm but not long after completing my hands will go grey and be so incredibly cold to the bone for hours afterwards. I am alien!

      Like

       
  3. gillyk

    August 1, 2013 at 2:47 pm

    You can get mattresses that have one side for winter and the other for summer, when the fabric wicks away heat and moisture from you. It might also be possible to get sheets that do the same thing – http://www.dermatherapybedding.co.uk/sports.html

    It sounds awful, poor thing – you don’t ever sound sorry for yourself but let me give you a hug!

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      August 1, 2013 at 3:42 pm

      If I/We use the prodects does that make us performance athletes too – I do believe so! Thanks for the link.

      Like

       
      • gillyk

        August 1, 2013 at 3:51 pm

        You’re already putting more energy into just living than many an athlete expends on a marathon!! :yes:

        Like

         
  4. freeasthewind

    August 1, 2013 at 4:50 pm

    Heat is good and bad. Depends on how we feel at the time I think. Hugs

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
