RSS

Once Upon A Time .. .. Not So Long Ago

27 Apr

On The Road

As the weather improves I find I am feeling my confinement more than during the winter months [I know, I am never satisfied].  As I sit here the sun is shinning, the blue sky is smattered with a few fluffy comfy clouds, the tree is full of blossom and even the occasional chirp of a bird [other than crawing seagull] sounds happy.

Today is the sort of day that I would have sprung up with the alarm, washed my hair, dressed in clothes other than slopping around the house attire, got into my beloved blue car and with suitable rocking music blaring out, would have motored up to the City.  I’d have been seated in my best friends kitchen waiting for the coffee she offered as we gabbled and conversed, she may have been doing laundry or clearing out the fridge. We may have gone to do her grocery shop, or run errands in the city or taken child 1 or 2 to friends, project supplies shopping or where ever.  After jobs were done we may have sat outside or jaunted off somewhere, we may have watched a film together.  I would have been transported and involved in another world.

But I no longer drive and she no longer lives that close.

I miss it.

I miss that time.

Today I am trying to get some chores and jobs done but am too easily distracted. Coming to the blog site was a distraction from balancing the cheque book and paying the credit card.  Playing a silly game will likely distract me from emptying the dryer.  Staring blankly at nothing will distract me from filing away the post and papers.  Then I will be angry at myself for not getting the stuff done and allowing myself to distract myself.

A disability can take away huge things from a person, but it can be the little insignificant things that are felt the most.

Tonight I am going to watch the DVD The Soloist – the Jamie Foxx and Robert Downey Jnr film about the life of Nathaniel Anthony Ayers it is based on a true story and is something I have wanted to watch since it was first trailered in 2009.

Happy weekend everyone

 
9 Comments

Posted by on April 27, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

9 responses to “Once Upon A Time .. .. Not So Long Ago

  1. la_spice

    April 27, 2013 at 1:06 pm

    The things you do manage to do puts many more able-bodied people to shame …. RESPECT ~X~

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      April 27, 2013 at 2:19 pm

      Not really, I guess we never see what we do do as anything other than ordinary, bcause we do it.

      Like

       
  2. gillyk

    April 27, 2013 at 1:43 pm

    I agree totally with Spicey :yes:

    Please let us know what you think of that film – I never know which ones are worth watching!

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      April 27, 2013 at 2:19 pm

      I will likely blog a small review tomorrow [distract me from the chores left from yesterday, today … :p]

      Like

       
  3. Bushka

    April 27, 2013 at 3:33 pm

    From me…? The Warmest of Hugs! Enjoy the DVD!

    Like

     
  4. deleted user

    April 27, 2013 at 10:58 pm

    I fully understand your not wanting sympathy. But understanding, yes I can imagine. With me it’s more a case of what could have been rather than what was.
    I think I saw that film, and from what I recall I’d have given it about 3.3 out of 5.

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      April 28, 2013 at 2:15 pm

      I agree with your 3.5 … about to blog a mini reviewette.

      If Istart down the road of what ‘could’ have been it makes things ten times worse, because I could do so much more if I had the right mind to – but like my sailing, that ship has passed.

      Someone once told me “You’re a longtime living with your memories’, at the time I thought it was a good sound bite now I know what he means.

      Like

       
  5. freeasthewind

    April 28, 2013 at 11:05 pm

    I agree with you so much even more now xxxx

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
