RSS

Seriously jesting

26 Apr

bacon

During a conversation this week an anecdote of my past jumped up and down in my head, so I thought I’d bore you dear reader with it too.

Many moons ago I worked for a Government Agency and we happy few had the delights of a section meeting every Tuesday morning, we ten girls and two fellas would traipse into the ‘break room’ to discuss, be told and generally look attentive.  This room served many sections and had something of a kitchenette, one of the earlier meeting teams decided it would be fab to have bacon butties with their breakfast meetings and as our kitchenette was the one with the necessary equipment, namely spare socket for table top grill, windows that opened, plates and a fridge,that is where the delicious delights were prepared.

Now I was the early bird at work, and was already at my desk when Boss1 mentioned something about going through for the meeting, I had already spied the heaped plate of mouth watering munchies heading in the opposite direction ad a thought occurred – somewhat following on from the circulated EU directive that after using the toilet, one should wash ones hands under a running tap for the duration it took to sing “Happy Birthday” to ensure ultimate hygiene [don’t laugh it is true].  I could feel my mouth beginning to work without the brain fully engaged.

“You know, Boss1 it’s not very erm, respectful us having this meeting in that room.” blank looks from Boss1 and Boss2. “It does not consider the tummy delicacy of the pregnant female and ignores the trials of the dieter or those with over weight tendencies; nor the ethics of the vegetarian or vegan after all meat is murder.  Then there are those of a religious belief that pork should not be touched, the Muslim and Jewish and others I cannot bring to mind. Do we have such in our merry band?  To make us all sit in a room heavy with the aroma of freshly grilled bacon that none of us are invited to eat, there might even be something in the Geneva Convention about that or the Human Rights Legislation.  And isn’t there something on the Health and Safety At Work poster about protecting staff from escaping powerful odours too>”

There was silence Boss2 was nodding slightly, “Good point”

Boss1 stood for a moment in quiet contemplation and remarked “You know, I am never quite sure whether you are serious or joking”

Many a true word spoken in jest – but personally smelling grilled bacon and not being able to have a sandwich is a form of torture.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 26, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “Seriously jesting

  1. gillyk

    April 26, 2013 at 4:33 pm

    I totally agree, and am very impressed with your eloquent speech!!

    Like

     
  2. Bushka

    April 26, 2013 at 4:45 pm

    Not fair…having a meeting with all that ‘tantalising aroma’ hanging around..:roll: As you say….Many a true word etc….;)xxx

    Like

     
  3. la_spice

    April 26, 2013 at 7:33 pm

    Here, here!!! Well said that woman :yes:

    Like

     
  4. deleted user

    April 26, 2013 at 7:43 pm

    Jolly good.:))

    Like

     
  5. NotBob

    April 26, 2013 at 10:43 pm

    That reminds me of the time one of my colleagues complained bitterly to me about the aroma of my daily cheese straw, telling me that he hated it as it smelled of dirty feet.

    Oh how I had to bite my tongue as he unwrapped his tuna and mayo roll… 🙄

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
