RSS

Boiled Spider Anyone…?

09 Apr

spider_gif

I fear I may be guilty of a rather cruel and unusual version of araneae-cide – well that is not exactly true, what I fear is that I cannot find the evidence and that is shudderingly perplexing.

You see folks, this morning I switched on the kettle to make the first coffee of the day, let that do its thang while I loaded and button pressed the washing machine into action.  Made my coffee and headed to my desk to work out how to fill the next hour or so.  Coffee drunk, papers read, forum moderated I adjourned my tasks, headed for a pee and decided to see to some kitchen chores and make lunch.

Kettle was refilled as the washing up bowl was set to work.  Dishes were being washed and as I glanced at the kettle reaching its bubbling crescendo I noticed a hair, a long strand of hair blowing in the thermals.  Upon closer inspection it was not a hair but a blackened cobweb linking the spout to the underside of my kitchen cabinet.  This could only have happened within a few moments of the kettle being filled, presumably the manufacturer of said strands had bungeed down from that miniscule gap in the tiling grout.

Does that mean Boris/Clarissa is in the kettle?

But it has just boiled??

On my … … … …

I emptied the water into the washing up bowl …. I took the lid off the kettle and peered within …. I rinsed out the kettle and emptied the swilling contents …. no carcass, no evidence, no spider remains.

I decided on a glass of coke instead.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on April 9, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

9 responses to “Boiled Spider Anyone…?

  1. deleted user

    April 9, 2013 at 1:08 pm

    Incinerated spiders are considered a delicacy in Vietnam – So coffee with added puree’d spider could catch on !

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      April 9, 2013 at 1:45 pm

      I am sure I have not drunk the body … just rather know where the remains were, lol.

      Like

       
  2. Bushka

    April 9, 2013 at 2:35 pm

    What a splendid tale….even more so being true…..Arachnidal Suicide! ;)xx

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      April 9, 2013 at 2:58 pm

      Ah I had not thougt of the spider suiciding in my kettle – poor thing, times so tough he/she ended it all. In a weird way i feel better and sorry for the passing soul now, lol.

      Like

       
      • Bushka

        April 9, 2013 at 4:07 pm

        As we should feel sorry for ‘Passing Souls’ however, ‘rotten’ they might have been…..;)xx

        Like

         
  3. gillyk

    April 9, 2013 at 2:53 pm

    :)) love the comments too – a kamikaze spider!!!

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      April 9, 2013 at 2:59 pm

      It was weird. I said to myself I wonder how long that cobweb has been there, then brain kicked my arse and reminded me I had moved the kettle to fill it up! LOL 🙄

      Still haven’t found the remains 😦

      Like

       
  4. la_spice

    April 9, 2013 at 3:34 pm

    Sorry but I’m still grinning after reading this three times!!!!!!! :>>

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      April 13, 2013 at 9:38 am

      So helpful, as always, lol.

      If it is any consolation, when I recounted the tale to my sister, she burst out laughing too!

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
