RSS

Booky Kindling

09 Feb

box

Can you see it there?  Peering at me through the crinkled glass?  Teasing me, doing the bland box equivalent of sticking its tongue out at me, going “ner ner ne ner ner”.  Annoying, aggrieving, so bloody damn close!

This is a problem for me.  No not the teasing, well yes but what I mean is the not being able to do something simple, straight forward, something my 20 month old great nephew can do with his eyes closed ….. pick something up off the floor.

When we think of people and their disabilities, we think of the irritation of steps and stairs, possibly the effort required to walk or wheel a short distance, the hazard of weather and surfaces.  You might consider the additional thinking needed to manage toileting and eating or drinking or getting into or out of a car.  There are devices and methods to over come the majority of these things, but as our beloved non-voted-for-government [my ballot paper said nuffin about a coalition] is striving for the masses to ‘be independent, live inclusive independent lives’ while at the same time cutting back of services to enable that, the little things fall through the cracks.  Well not exactly fall, more like sit there teasing, becoming an obstacle, testing patience to limits.

My Postie Persons are brilliant, even since the ramp was added at my front door if ever they have something that will not fit through the letter box, instead of knocking and leaving the “Sorry You Were Out” card as it takes me an eternity [8 minutes is an eternity] to answer my door, they go straight for the handle, open the door and drop/pop/place it on the floor.  Awesome, it saves so much hassle and bother of trying to re-arrange redelivery or arrange for someone to collect it.  I always shout “Thank you’ even though by the time I have been startled by the sound and gathered thoughts as to what is happening they are off and gone, but it is the thought that counts.

That leaves anticipated arrival sitting there.  Once upon a time I used to shuffle on the dining chair across the floor, open the door and grab what was there and skooch that back across the floor as I shuffled on the chair back to the desk and then hoped I could reach said skooched item and lift it so I can open it.  But nowadays the shuffling on the chair is back-agonizing and neck-tensing and isn’t exactly doing the utterly-relied-upon chair any good – so items have to sit there until someone comes in and can pick it up for me.  This is my sister, who is my carer.  But as Lord Sod and Marquis Murphy rule supreme the item will arrive after she has left and means I have to wait until the next day.

It is like having freshly baked bread or a luxurious chocolate cake sitting on the kitchen table but the person with the knife is not coming until hours after hours later – torture for some.

I realise some of you are going to be caught up in the challenge of solving this.  I thank you for your thoughts and efforts but before you go a googling, don’t.  There are cages that can be hung around the letter box to catch the arrivals but that would mean the front door would not open far enough to get the wheelchair out.  There are letter boxes that can be hung on the exterior wall of houses where mail is put, again no good, I would not be able to get to it and the item would not be allowed here where I live.

My blog is not to challenge you to find solutions, it is not really about high lighting that it is the little unthought of things that really are mountains to climb [don’t start me on not being able to stretch] … it is more me having a light hearted moan and having the opportunity to behave like a little child who wants that piece of chocolate cake, but I cannot reach to poke my little finger on the icing to satisfy myself.  Which is hilarious because I couldn’t eat a slice of cake I am not that fussed with confectionery.

LIST UPDATE – one done and two sort of half heartedly started … could do better.

What was that?  What was in the box??

Ahh, well, you see, I was caught up in a whim and bought a kindle and a cd.  I was going to read books on the iPad but it has too many other distractions .. I know … I know …. easily distracted by shiny things, not a necessary purchase but, but, but, well …… pffft!

 

 
8 Comments

Posted by on February 9, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

8 responses to “Booky Kindling

  1. The_Walrus

    February 9, 2013 at 4:08 pm

    If you know science fiction, then you will understand when I say you need Waldos, otherwise you will think I’m nuts. Well, I am, but you need Waldos…

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      February 10, 2013 at 3:02 pm

      My first thought was …he’s nuts what do I need an american fast food joint for … then I remembered, and yes I do need one, or an R2D2 but not the bossy C3PO

      Like

       
      • The_Walrus

        February 10, 2013 at 3:45 pm

        I hadn’t heard of the American fast food place… 🙂

        Not even other ‘droids can stand C3PO. But something with a “hand” at the end that could be controlled with very little power, that should be available in shops, now. And isn’t. More profit in weapons of mass destruction, I suppose.

        Like

         
  2. Bushka

    February 9, 2013 at 5:03 pm

    Useful when travelling…..Kindling etc…..Take Care! Hugs! :)xx

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      February 10, 2013 at 3:04 pm

      My Sister picked it up and promptly read the first chapter of my book! We were teasing her that that is more reading than she has done on holiday acros the last five years. I have a feeling my kindle will go a travelling when she has her hols later in the year.

      Like

       
  3. gillyk

    February 9, 2013 at 7:12 pm

    You are a magpie, amgroves, collecting scintillating shiny things into your nest! You need a litter picker (yes, I know you said not to make suggestions …) which has long arms and can pick things up in a pincer movement :yes: (she says, ducking as amgroves hurls something at her 8|

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      February 10, 2013 at 3:06 pm

      I’ve tried one of those … kept running out of hands. It always seemed to be in the wrng hand to then be able to move to put the grabbed item somewhere reachable and made my hand cramp.

      Yes you can say I am an awkward bugger – many do 😆

      Like

       
      • gillyk

        February 10, 2013 at 3:40 pm

        I suspect that’s what keeps you going 😉

        Like

         

Leave a Reply

 
