RSS

Sleep perchance to shuffle and toss

12 Oct

Unmade Bed

Sleep and I have fallen out .. rather harshly too.  I am shattered, lethargic and unrested, which is not a good combination when you need your wits about you to function in every day ways.

Usually, I head for bed because I am tired, but by the time I have struggled to my feet, waddled to the bathroom, waddled to the bedroom, undressed, collapsed and thrown the covers over, I am wide awake again.  Thumb twiddling for over an hour and closer to two before eventually dropping off into a disjointed sleep pattern of regular waking into full consciousness to adjust position and then wait ages to drop off again.  I would guess that to get 6 hours of decent sleep would take 12 to 16 hours to achieve.

I purchased an iPad – loving it – with the tv catch up app and iPlayers, this is brilliant for me.  I go to bed earlier, so all the energetic waddling is done, I watch some tv for an hour, switch off iPad, turn over, sleep arrives within the hour … a sounding result.

However more recently even this has failed to work. I turn off the ipad and turn over and toss and turn and huff and count dots, clouds, sheep, recite the alphabet forwards backwards, box the compass clock and anti clock wise, sleep makes a half hearted appearance some four hours later, leaving me about three hours to sleep disjointedly before the next day beckons.  This does not a happy bunny make!

Last night, I was in bed by 9 because I felt exhausted and staying up longer could render me too exhausted to physically do the struggle and waddle.  I got comfy and no, nothing, not a hint of a yawn or droopy eyes.  I went online, tweeted, read, watched tv until midnight and still more awake than at any point in the day! Turned over and determined myself to slumber, spent the rest of the night travelling the bed to find the cool spot, travelling the bed to find the warm bit, travelling the bed to retrieve the duvet slowly sliding off the bottom corner, tossing turning shifting because which ever way I lay it caused something to go numb, something to go ouch or something to cramp.

Patience thoroughly tested and that too now exhausted.

So for the rest of the month, it is kill or cure time.  Strict routine for bed, no excuses, no tardiness on my part [stop sniggering].  Bed … tv 1 hour, take herbal sleepy helpers, read 1 hour, turn over and SLEEP.

 

 
10 Comments

Posted by on October 12, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

10 responses to “Sleep perchance to shuffle and toss

  1. Bushka

    October 12, 2012 at 3:39 pm

    HUGS! I can but imagine – possible? – what it much be like ‘not to be able to sleep’…..I have some indication from my ‘Better Half’ who has struggled with ‘Sleep’ all her life…..
    Whatever you do….or do not do….Don’t Lose Your Sense Of Humour! Hugs! :)xxxxx

    Like

     
  2. la_spice

    October 12, 2012 at 4:12 pm

    Sounds like a plan ….. I hope it works :yes:

    Like

     
  3. deleted user

    October 12, 2012 at 11:33 pm

    I hope that works, and that therefore you’re not awake to read this now.
    I may have said this before, but relaxing classical music can help.

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      October 13, 2012 at 2:22 pm

      I have in the past listened to radio 4, which switches to the World Service at 1am, the low voices sort of distract my brain and sleep sneaks in, lol.

      My days are running backwards, I wake up knackered and go to bed bright eyed and bushy wot-not-ed.

      Like

       
  4. TheWonderer

    October 22, 2012 at 10:11 am

    Hiya! Yeah, it’s me – back again….

    Folks seem to get hung up on having so-many-hours sleep a night – but few realise that sleep has two phases (deep and light) each lasting between 90 and 100 minutes. As long as you get through one of each phase, you have effectively completed your sleep requirements, and might as well get up again.
    I haven’t slept for more than four hours a night for years and I’m perfectly happy. I used to be forced into longer sleeps when I was a kid. I can still hear my Dad… “You need your eight hours, son!” No wonder I was knackered all my childhood! When I left home, my sleep pattern gradually shortened until it reached four hours, which appears natural for me. Nowadays, I go to bed when I’m tired enough to sleep – and get up when I’ve finished sleeping. Works for me!

    Don’t get hung up on it. If you wake up – get up! That usually either lets you get on with the day or shows you just how tired you really are, so you head off back to bed sharpish.

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      October 22, 2012 at 4:36 pm

      *waves* Hello again 🙂

      The most annoying side of my sleep pattern is that I do not wake feeling rested or ready, I seem to be stuck in the mode of ‘needing sleep’ and rarely get to feeling awake until it is time to head back to bed. As someone who needs her wits to manage getting from A to B, or merely standing, it has somewhat perilous consequences.

      Like

       
  5. WinkinBlinkinNod

    October 25, 2012 at 4:38 pm

    How is the sleep situation going?

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      October 27, 2012 at 3:32 pm

      The planned imposition of a schedule never happened, and taking the herbal fall-off-to-z’s didn’t work …. it is not as bad as it was but have had a couple of 3 hour nights and a couple of 3+1+3 hour nights …. tiz how it tiz.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
