RSS

I Made My Sister Cry

28 Sep

1star

And I have a big smile about it

To understand my glee and her tears you need a little background.  We ‘feel’ music, maybe as pianists and understanding its constructs we knew its innards as it were, there are numerous films that we joke about her needing a towel for the tears [hand towel for Sound of Music, bath towel for Edith Cavell, face cloth for High Society etc].  The extra emotion music can give to a scene multiplies greatly how we empathise and react to the scene [although not horror movies, which we both watch], there are numerous times when we remark about our skin going ‘goosey’ [goosebumps/gooseflesh], or our hairs tingling as they stand on end because the emotion of the scene is making us both react.

I have been working on these dvd’s, one of them was the video of my sister’s wedding,which was standard 8mm cine film already put to video some twenty years ago and now upgrading to DVD.  We never liked the background audio selection that was made with the video, so I detached the audio and set about making my own backing track.  Looking for something triumphant and rousing while also delicate I settled on the Arrival Of The Queen of Sheeba, for the footage taken at the house where family had gathered and we 7 bridesmaids [aged from 5 to 14] got ready.  I knew the hymn sung was Crimmond and added a soft choral version for the footage taken of people and the groom arriving at the Church.  I remembered that she walked down the aisle to Jeremiah’s Trumpet Voluntary, so used that from her car arriving at the church to walking up the aisle and part of the ceremony.  Of course there is the build up at the church doors for the bride and groom walking out and I used the Wedding March for that and continued through the congregation coming together posing for the official photos outside the country church and the happy couple leaving for the Wedding Breakfast.  For the people arriving at the reception I used a song from the era of their dating and the final section I used their song “Young Girl” by Gary Puckett & The Union Gap.

I confess while spending the hours across several days, editing and working on the timings, getting them to fit with the images there were times when I welled to tears because I knew how she would react to it, but also feeling overwhelmed at what I was achieving that would be such a touching surprise for her, and finally because I was seeing so many people who are no longer with us.  Finally I convinced myself that it needed no more enhancing or editing and burned it to the dvd and made the cover insert or the case.

She arrived here yesterday and said “Are you trying to kill me?  You could have warned me I would need more than tissues!”  I smiled.  We had a lovely couple of hours talking about the memories of that day and how the family film had touched us and we had both caught ourselves marking the people as passed or alive.

My Sister is such a giver, and this is the second time I have managed to give overwhelmed her with something I have been able to do for her.  hence my beaming smiles at making my beautiful loving giving sister cry.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 28, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “I Made My Sister Cry

  1. gillyk

    September 28, 2012 at 2:32 pm

    Oh, what a very lovely and touching post. It’s wonderful that you were able to add the soundtrack, not only with skill but also with love. I guess the two of you got through most of the bath towels by the time you’d finished … maybe started on the duvets too???!!! 😉

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      September 28, 2012 at 3:08 pm

      She needed the duvet at the rehearsal for her only son’s wedding!!

      Thanks Gill.

      Like

       
  2. la_spice

    September 28, 2012 at 5:33 pm

    How wonderful ….. ~x~

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      September 29, 2012 at 12:03 pm

      Thank you … i do ‘try’. I will have toblog about the other time I made my Sister cry, lol.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
