RSS

A Posh IOU

15 Sep

Proclomation

Back in May I was pondering what to get gift wise for my Sister’s birthday.  She and I send quite a bit of time together and she is the type who will give ideas of what she would like, which nice in some ways denies surprise in others.  My mobility as it is means I am stuck with internet shopping for a gift or telling her to get what she wants.  The down side of giving her the reins is she will either spend £5 on herself or when I suggest I will buy her ‘X’ she flatly refuses to let me spend that much cash.

She needs a new mobile phone, but does not want a swipe one, she wants a buttons one but even when we went into the shop and I said I will get ‘that’ phone for you if that is the one you want she promptly wheeled me out huffing you’re not spending that much on me [yes I am, she is worth it]  But I am the baby sister so she gets her way.

I did not want to put cash in her card, it felt like an easy not thought f option [by me]. In a previous year I had paid for an excursion trip while they were on their annual cruise, and another time I bought some Euros and gave those.

Then an idea sprang to mind

We both like history, the grace decorum and language of that time, and with the year being historical and one of pageantry and procession it seemed all the more fitting.  I got on the computer and decided to produce a proclamation, a deed of intent, a posh IOU.  I googled for a parchment image and made that the background, I googled for a town crier drawing and added him.  Then I set to with the wording, thinking use four words instead of one,

“To mark this day of the Gregorian Calendar, the fifth day of the sixth month known as June,
in the year of our Most Venerable Sovereign Queen’s Diamond Anniversary of her illustrious reign,
two thousand and twelve.”

You get the gist.  As a modern twist in the smallest font I could manage I set to with the small print, using my best made up legalese – the party of the first past henceforth referred to as the gifter, shall endeavour the part of the second part, henceforth known as the giftee – I checked, rechecked and checked again for spelling errors or pagination gaffs and printed it off.  I rolled it up, placed an elastic band around it, wound some ribbon around the band and tied my best bow, then placed the scroll into a gift box that had been bought at a sale with the thought that it would come in useful for something.

She LOVED it, she framed it [the small print said it should not be defaced or altered in any way], when we went shopping and she saw something she liked i would remind her “Well you have your proclamation money” or she would hint “Might have to redeem some for that”.  She bought a top she liked for he holiday, but quite some was still outstanding.  She and her husband returned from their cruise last week and when she visited me she produced the proclamation with a smile “I spent it”.  She bought herself a fabulous ring when she was in Rhodes.  She told me she wants it back again to hang on her kitchen wall.

A simple, quick idea that has lasted longer than the cash or the card.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on September 15, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

5 responses to “A Posh IOU

  1. la_spice

    September 15, 2012 at 3:58 pm

    Aw … what a super duper 24 carat gift ~x~

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      September 16, 2012 at 11:15 am

      Those spur of the moment, sudden [rare] flashes of inspiration often are, aren’t they?

      Next year she has an “O bloody hell’ birthday. I am thinking of scribbling “IOU suffin” on the back of a coffee stained envelope, lol.

      Like

       
  2. Bushka

    September 15, 2012 at 5:25 pm

    Absolutely Fabulous…….. xx

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      September 16, 2012 at 11:16 am

      Thank you Bushka. I love your smilies, such a gent like you 🙂

      Like

       
  3. Scissor Sisters

    September 20, 2012 at 4:43 pm

    Love those kind of gifts. They are so full of love!!

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
