RSS

Kick back its a long weekend

24 Aug

vacation

Here in the Uk Monday is a bank holiday [public holiday] so the weekend will be a day longer .. whoop whoop .. the weather forecast is predicting differing levels of rain [typical] but so far as I look out the window it is a lovely day, some sun, some cloud cover, a little breeze and a comfortable 66ºF 19ºC ….. will it last.  Historically, back in the days when I was working at a local leisure attraction, we would want there to be a stiff cooling onshore breeze, to drive the sun seekers off the beach and into our Park, we were successful only a few times.  More often than not, the monsoon season would holiday here and deluge us with cold drenchings.

It is the last weekend hoorah for many as the little and not so little hooligans will return to school the middle of the following week, for those working parents taking this week off means they are spared using one day’s holiday allowance.  For the little darlings next week becomes the drag around the shops hell for new uniforms, shoes, bags and assorted paraphernalia, and you generally see very stressed tense mothers.

For me, this weekend, will be much like any other.  I will likely be up chatting with friends until dawn breaks, a few hours nap and Saturday business begins, possibly an afternoon nap before my tasty bolognese for dinner and the task of finding something worth watching on the tv.  I have no plans, my time is my own and that is fine with me.  I have the Augustus intentions to work on [I am on to the last one], the September ones to think about.  My time is my own and I shall waste it as I please, lol.

I have a couple of game apps on my ipad, backgammon and reversi [some may know it as otello] which keep calling to me to play.

Have a fun one my friends, soon be Christmas

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 24, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “Kick back its a long weekend

  1. Bushka

    August 24, 2012 at 11:39 am

    Have a Super Long Week-end Ann…..Take Care! Hugs! xx

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      August 24, 2012 at 11:59 am

      Thank you Bushka, you too 🙂

      Like

       
  2. deleted user

    August 24, 2012 at 12:52 pm

    Glad that you seem relaxed and cheerful.
    —- Christmas !
    (Sorry!)

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      August 24, 2012 at 1:36 pm

      Whenever anyone mentions that it will be Christmas before we know it or count down the days until, I groan. It is the thought of the hours of traipsing around stores trying to find something the recipient wants, that I can afford, when they themselves do not know what they want. I think of all the cards and letters I will diligently write knowing that I will get few cards and no letters in return. Each year you say to yourself, not doing this next year but it never works out that way.

      Hope you, Mum and Leo have a pleasant, sunny and dry weekend.

      Like

       
      • deleted user

        August 24, 2012 at 5:52 pm

        Me Too, Anne-Marie ! Though I certainly don’t begrudge others enjoying it, it’s just about my least favourite time of year.
        Thanks for your kind wishes – Apparently rain is forecast, but I don’t mind.

        Like

         

Leave a Reply

 
