RSS

I’m not that sweet!!

09 Aug

mosquito

How are we all out there in the wondrous scary world beyond the screens?  Time is ticking along, only 137 days until Christmas [yes I have started, although I think Great-Nephew is going to get his way before December, like in two weeks time, lol].

Well then, lets tell you how things are round here.  It has reached that time of year when I seem to become the sushi bar of delicacy to some blood sucking insect.  Every day for the past couple of weeks I have woken with a new itch, a new bump and a new red inflamed spot.  Up until now they have appeared on my lower leg, and usually the leg snuggled under the duvet rather than the one languishing all exposed.  However, now the favoured area seems to be the forearm, of course there are the obligatory ones right where the bra strap sits and one drunken bugger left one on my chin.

Sometimes I look more like a contorting gorilla when the itchiness get too much.  Apart from the resultant marks, it does leave me with a feeling that microscopic beings are crawling about my skin, I flinch and stop, waiting for confirmation but no, it is just my trousers tickling a hair or a piece of cotton dangling.  What was that?  Oh a loose hair falling at my neck.

Might try the diluted listerine on my legs, or the peppermint foot spray, see if that deters them.  I am reluctant to use an antihistamine because they have a tendency to put me to sleep and insect repellants tend to just annoy them into finding that one bit of me that missed the daubing, like where the knickers elastic sits.

Hey ho.  Monday my Sister and I [shhh she doesn’t know yet] will be damp dusting, vacuuming and airing my bedroom.

August boot strap up-date – Well limited progress has been made.  I have caught up with the paperwork, just the copying and distributing to be done, but that requires third party hands.  I am cracking on with the crochet and while polishing the family tree branches I discovered the codes for four more death certificates.  Even made notes on what to update on my web site.

Now what can I find to ‘watch’ while I crochet this afternoon.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on August 9, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

7 responses to “I’m not that sweet!!

  1. deleted user

    August 9, 2012 at 2:54 pm

    Loved to crochet – sadly its a pursuit I don’t do that often now with wool being so expensive. I did mention Christmas yesterday to my daughter asking her what she was doing so like you are getting prepared – September is usually my time for making the cake and pudding.

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      August 10, 2012 at 12:27 pm

      I am only crocheting because my bff landed me with a [large] suitcase stuffed with yarn. So I am making neckwarmers, gloves and headbands for her to sell for her daughters Uni costs.

      Like

       
  2. la_spice

    August 9, 2012 at 2:55 pm

    Ho, ho, ho!!!!

    My grandchildren have already started their Christmas lists!!! 🙄

    As for pesky insect bites I’m sleeping under my mozzie net these nights

    Enjoy the rest of your day 🙂

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      August 10, 2012 at 12:29 pm

      Christmas list! We all say we are going to make one and yet we know not what to put on them, but want lists from everyone else. I did suggest we all give each other IOU’s.

      The back of my knee looks perferated, infact my lower leg is looking like an abstract join the dots job, lol.

      Like

       
      • la_spice

        August 10, 2012 at 12:33 pm

        Ah … they love that spot behind the knees!!! :yes:

        Like

         
  3. deleted user

    August 9, 2012 at 9:47 pm

    Fortunately biting inscects don’t like me, but flies to – I’m like a magnet to them !
    I hope you found something worth watching. I’m half-watching the taekwondo.
    A commentator on R5live earlier said ‘First dancing horses, then women trying to kick each other’s heads off’ !

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      August 10, 2012 at 12:30 pm

      No, I didn’t. I forgot the horses were on 😦 I just had the window wide open, listening to the sounds, then the sound of the gardeners, did get on a fair bit though 🙂

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
