RSS

For the want of a spare room

27 Jul

messyroom

Oh I wish my dusty hovel had a spare room, just somewhere to put stuff out of the way while other work is being done, but this is the downside of a one bedroom flat.

I moved in here a little over 20 years ago and things [including me] are looking a little tired and neglected, in need of some changing and revamping [including me, lol].  If I had a spare room, a second bedroom or separate dining room, I would love to empty everything from my bedroom, get the walls, ceiling and woodwork repainted, new carpet laid, new bedroom furniture installed, probably something along the fitted bedroom ilk, reorganise my collected clutter, debunk more to the recycling bin, a brand new bed with new bedding to match the new scheme.  Just to feel fresh and renewed.

But without that space to hold stuff out of my way until the work would be completed, it won’t get done.

I would love a new carpet in my front room buth without any space to put the any of the furniture to have the room clear, it will never get done.

Seeing as nowerdays I am in this pied-å-terre is my world for all but about 6 hours a week [weather permitting] to have comfortable, manageable, fresh room could rejuvenate me too.

Oh well, ce la vie *shrug*

 
10 Comments

Posted by on July 27, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

10 responses to “For the want of a spare room

  1. Bushka

    July 27, 2012 at 2:38 pm

    The hot weather would not help either…..Hugs! :)xxx

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      July 27, 2012 at 3:04 pm

      Oh I don’t mind this hot weather 🙂 It can stay, I have my window open and front door wide, I can handle indoor sunbathing, lol.

      Like

       
      • Bushka

        July 27, 2012 at 3:14 pm

        I like that…’indoor bathing’….xxx

        Like

         
  2. la_spice

    July 27, 2012 at 4:35 pm

    It’s a shame you couldn’t ‘decant’ for a short period as I’m sure a ‘new’ bedroom would cheer you up no end. Is it worth checking with the local housing office to see if they could provide some nearby temporary accomodation to assist the work in progress? …… just a thought :**:

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      July 28, 2012 at 3:40 pm

      Yes, I understand what you mean, there has to be a way. The idea of having a spare room is that things could be put there out the way, but still accessible for sorting and shifting, or to be stored until someone collects etc.

      Local housing is atrocious round here, there is no suitable accommodation for a disabled person other than geriatric nursing homes, now I have no objection to the work they do it is commendable, I am just not geriatric enough [yet] to need that at £1,000 a week!!

      Like

       
      • la_spice

        July 28, 2012 at 3:48 pm

        Ah …. a permanent spare room!!! :yes:

        Like

         
  3. deleted user

    July 28, 2012 at 11:10 pm

    I guess you’re not one of the ‘100 UK Millionaires’ from last night – Me neither.
    I remember by late Dad’s late mother tidying my room by chucking everything in it that looked out of place into the cupboard, then shutting the door.
    An example that has stayed with me ever since.

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      July 30, 2012 at 3:06 pm

      No, my Sister and I plumped for a few lucky dip lines and not a single one of our numbers were drawn, I want a refund

      Like

       
      • deleted user

        August 1, 2012 at 12:19 am

        That’s gambling for you. I know I said months ago that my attempts at the ‘euro millions’ virtually paid for themselves, as I so regularly won very small amounts – Which for several weeks I did, but nothing for months now.
        Buying one line can briefly engender a semi-excited sense of hopefulness, and someone’s got to win, but best to remember that the odds against winning a large amount are statistically stratospherically daunting.

        Like

         
      • amgroves

        August 1, 2012 at 3:05 pm

        I think I read somewhere that the odds of being struck by a piece of falling space debris are far more likely than winning a jackpot lottery.

        Like

         

Leave a Reply

 
