RSS

Chaos and agony

24 Jun

Toothache

It has been something of a week for me and mine, those sudden annoyances that have a tantrum if they don’t get immediate attention and I do mean immediate, no time to pee, just get on sorting.

Monday brought a mildly panicked telephone call from Nephew, the removal company that was all booked and sorted to do the house move on Friday called and said they would not be available that day but could do Saturday.  that was no good, it was a case of move Friday or don’t move at all, everyone was in place, I was cat sitting, granny #2 was baby sitting, time off work had been booked [nephew, his mum and his mother-in-law and father-in-law].  So I spent the rest of the day phoning around local people seeing who was available that day,I also telephoned our local estate agents and asked who they recommend and when they mentioned the company that pulled out on us I politely recounted the story adding how appalling it was to treat customers that way [ hell hath no fury like an Aunty pissed off].  By Tuesday a man with two assistants and a van was sorted, settled and a collective sigh of relief emanated.

I must have sighed too hard because on Tuesday a niggling ache started under my back molar, I ignored it, thinking oh it must have been over brushed or I annoyed it when dislodging that stubborn rice seed.  By Tuesday evening tooth decided it was not happy, so come Wednesday when it called in reinforcements and made the jaw ache ad if I closed my mouth completely pain would pulsate up into my ear, I had to concede defeat and try for an emergency appointment at the Dentist.  This is not straight forward because I need my Sister to lift me into and out of my wheelchair, so I first had to check when she was available and hope the Dentist was available at the same time.  Appointment made for 2.30pm [yeah, dentist ‘o’ clock, tooth hurty ] and as I looked out the window at the Dentist surgery at the top of my street, hoped and wished the downpour would stop long enough for us to get there and back without being drenched to our niccy-naccy-noos.

It did and after the briefest of tentative prodding antibiotics were prescribed, painkillers advised [she did not prescribe any as I pay for scripts so we discussed cheaper counter meds] and an appointment was settled for Friday for an x-ray and then decide plan of action; either do nothing [not really an option], root fill the tooth [there isn’t much tooth to fill] or yank it [reluctant most likely result].  Well today is day four and it is a great deal less painful, much less pressure but it is still rather sore, verging on a bruised sensation.  Question is, last day of pills tomorrow, will it stay low key till Friday or flare up again.

Wednesday delivered some sad news, a very close family friend passed after a liver cancer battle.  I always knew him as ‘Uncle John’ though he was no relation, but he was one of my Mum’s boys.  When Mum, Dad and Sister moved down here into the Service Station there were two local lads who came and odd job worked and their two pals were here too.  Mum took to John remarking he just needs some love, he did not have the best of home life, a bit of a rogue, a proper ‘boy’.  He came to Dad one Monday and asked for an advance on his wages, he had only been paid Friday afternoon, Dad refused but said come Friday I will give you half your wages and the other half on Monday.  When John started dating he brought her round to meet my parents long before he said he was dating anyone to his own father and step mum.  When he had his accident and fell off his motor bike he called my parents, and the ambulance [in those days they’d take you home too] dropped him off there.  He and his wife gave my Dad’s name to their first born son.  When my Mum fell ill and was hospitalised with her cancer, he was there every day to see her, he checked up on Dad and gave the most honest and moving eulogy at my Dad’s funeral, admitting he would not have survived his teen years without them, would not have achieved as he did in his own business nor have his wife, children and grandchildren, it all came from an act of kindness and teaching respect.  You might not have seen him every day, but when you did meet or need it was so comfortable and informal, you knew it was him from how he rang the doorbell and breezed in, you could not help but laugh with his laughter or smile at his effervescence.  Not sure when the funeral is yet, taking bets on it being Friday morning when I should be back at the Dentist.  This past year there was been a definite conspiracy when it comes to me attending funerals.

Friday, the day of the move, nephew arrived with protesting cat, lol.  After a quick 360 look around he went behind the sofa and promptly stayed there until nephew came and collected him.  Could not even entice him out with chicken at lunchtime!  I was a little disappointed as I quite liked the idea of cat sitting on the window sill to talk to.  Oh well.  Still the day went well, no breakage, nothing forgotten, no upsets or obstacles … other than the Mortgage company not sending the correct amount of funds, but that is a battle for next week.

Right then, decisions decisions, do I adjourn to the sofa to continue crocheting, do I blog a projects up-date [it does help me to get on and do, knowing I intend to report back] or do I attempt some chores ….. ….. …. ….. …..

Meh, it is Sunday, no chores today.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on June 24, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

11 responses to “Chaos and agony

  1. Bushka

    June 24, 2012 at 2:38 pm

    Good Lass…Today is Sunday!!!! After such a week….Six days of ‘Hard Labour’…Wellllll…..You deserve A Rest……:lalala: Glad that tooth was sorted promptly….;) Enjoy the day Ann….Hugs! :)xx

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      June 24, 2012 at 3:07 pm

      LOL, I shall use you all as my excuse 🙂

      Like

       
  2. la_spice

    June 24, 2012 at 2:38 pm

    Yes …. I’ve observed the “No chores on Sunday” …… I woz brought up proper!!!

    Mind you I also observed it yesterday and might even just stretch it to tomorrow…. :>>

    Have a lovely evening and a happy blogfree Monday ~x~

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      June 24, 2012 at 3:10 pm

      Usually I observe the three day week, yesterday today and tomorrow … really i am playing the ‘Get it done before big Sister arrives tomorrow morning and notices how lazy I’ve been’ game, its more tense than Russian roulette, lol.

      Happy Blogfree Monday to you xx

      Like

       
      • la_spice

        June 24, 2012 at 3:51 pm

        Does a three day week mean that Christmas and birthdays come around more often???

        Like

         
      • amgroves

        June 26, 2012 at 10:07 am

        Sadly no, lol .. nor does it bring payday any quicker 😦

        Like

         
      • la_spice

        June 26, 2012 at 10:08 am

        Aw well ….. never mind 🙄

        Like

         
  3. deleted user

    June 24, 2012 at 11:41 pm

    Oh dear. Hope your week to come is a better one.
    -x-.

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      June 26, 2012 at 10:08 am

      Other than the return visit to the Dentist Friday, it is loking that way 🙂

      Like

       
  4. peg-pain

    July 17, 2012 at 6:42 pm

    What happened to your tooth?

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      July 20, 2012 at 2:31 pm

      After the five days of antibiotics and another week of pain killers it has returned to its normal self. I decided that as the x-ray showed nothing sinister to leave the tooth as is and not go for the extraction unless it plays up again.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
