RSS

A bit of a day

10 Feb

Busy Desk

A rather curious sensation came over me yesterday … here I was at the keys, minding my own, solving a hidden object puzzle, reading a new page when all of a sudden, quite unexpectedly, this desire, more of an urge, almost a drizen need, washed over me to revamp my personal website ….. I considered logging off and going to lay down, after all it was a very unusual sensation but no I decided to harness the will and opened iWeb.

The rest of the day is rather a blind blur.  I re-wrote the ‘Doing Now’ page, deciding to catalogue my projects and things to do there as well as here.  I tinkered and created some banners to spruce up the various photo album headers, sourced a few extra pictures to upload.  I completely reworked the sailing page, making new blog link arts and then I added the another sailing trip blog.  Toyig with adding a twitter thingy-me-do-wot-sit.  I always leave such things over nightto re-read and check again with refreshed eyes before committing it to ‘a-go’.

Now for the laborious bit … transfering all the files from the computer to the web server to publish the changes on the www.  T-E-D-I-O-U-S is not the word .. slower than Royal Mail .. so inbetween I am doing laundry, washing dishes, cleaning kitchen, washing my hair, tidying the bathroom.

It’s all a hive of activity, which is not the norm … I do hope this passes quickly, I am blinkin knackered!!!

p.s. hopefully the new and improved site will be publoshed by Saturday morning.

 
13 Comments

Posted by on February 10, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

13 responses to “A bit of a day

  1. The_Walrus

    February 10, 2012 at 1:57 pm

    Sounds like you should use FileZilla. Drag and drop uploading, lovely!

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      February 10, 2012 at 5:45 pm

      I will have to look into that, thanks Walrus

      Like

       
      • amgroves

        February 10, 2012 at 6:28 pm

        Doh! I did download it and got stuck trying to get the damn thing to connect … the ‘help’ pages at my host peeps and on Filezilla have not been much help yet either 😦

        Like

         
  2. la_spice

    February 10, 2012 at 2:08 pm

    The occasional mad flurry of activity is very invigorating :yes:

    Just don’t go overdoing it!!!

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      February 10, 2012 at 5:46 pm

      Nope, I will not be over doing it … still haven’t emptied the dryer, nor washed my hair, nor …. you get the drift, lol

      Like

       
  3. Octomom

    February 10, 2012 at 2:34 pm

    I have heard it said that just before giving birth woman get a bolt of energy. Something to do with the nesting instinct.
    Keep a look out for a wayward stork who may come bashing thru your window!

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      February 10, 2012 at 5:47 pm

      LOL you nut .. any stork seen flying round here would be a flower stem blown in a gale!!

      Like

       
  4. amgroves

    February 10, 2012 at 5:48 pm

    Well most of it is now uploaded, but aparently the iWeb/Bravenet thingy me doo doo cannot cope with gif’s. So I have to redo the album pages [again] and reload them and figure out why it won’t show two of the albums.

    Fun, did someone dare to say the word ‘fun’!!

    Like

     
  5. Miza-T

    February 10, 2012 at 6:04 pm

    That’s brilliant! I’ve been unsuccessfully trying to set up a website! Bought the domain, downloaded all I apparently needed…now can’t link them together or even open it. oh dear! 🙂

    xx

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      February 10, 2012 at 11:12 pm

      I wonder what the problem is.

      There is usually a something to help upload files from the computer to the server for the site. Message me if you want a little help. Or sites have wizars to help you make the site on the web hostings pages.

      Like

       
      • Miza-T

        February 11, 2012 at 12:52 am

        Thank you. I may use your help if I can’t make it this weekend. 🙂

        Like

         
  6. deleted user

    February 15, 2012 at 10:50 am

    Perhaps the urge was prompted by an early Spring clean?

    Like

     
    • amgroves

      February 15, 2012 at 4:11 pm

      It may have been … but since then I have been struck by the “can’t be arsed” malaise, lol. Such energetic bursts are few and far between, so best to capitalise when I get one I suppose.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
